How many VMs is too many IYO?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Zellio, Jul 20, 2014.

  1. Zellio macrumors 65816

    Zellio

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #1
    I ask this as I am receiving Windows ME and Windows 98 se tomorrow..
     
  2. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
  3. alex0002 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    In my day job I work with servers.
    How does more than 20 VMs on 4 x VMware ESXi servers sound?
     
  4. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #4
    No much thing. But are you really going to use all of it unless you're running a lab or server?
     
  5. Kashsystems macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    #5
    The only time there is too many VMs is when your machine can no longer handle it.

    On my old 2011 iMac 21.5 i5 I would sometimes run 3-4 VMs with no issues, but I also had enough Ram to handle it.

    If your machine has 32gb of ram it is very easy to do.

    Now if you are planning to do a lot of cpu intensive among all the VMs at the same time, that is where cpu would be an issue.
     
  6. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    There's no real set number. Use what you can, your system will tell you when its too much as it bogs down.
     
  7. KNNSpeed macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    #7
    At one point I had MS-DOS/Windows 3.11, Windows 95, and Windows 98 SE all under Parallels on my 2010 MBP.

    I say never enough! :p

    (But, seriously, whatever system you have could probably handle those 2 simultaneously, no problem. No version of Windows 9x/ME needs more than 1GB RAM max dedicated to it.)
     
  8. James Stark macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Location:
    Indiana
    #8
    I'd say never too many --so long as you actually use them. If they aren't being use for.. let's say.. 6 months maybe time to get rid of that image.;)
     
  9. csixty4 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    Somerville, MA
    #9
    I do almost all of my web development work in Vagrant instances. Every client gets its own VM to keep things isolated. There's no such thing as too many!
     
  10. LostSoul80 macrumors 68020

    LostSoul80

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
  11. SlCKB0Y macrumors 68040

    SlCKB0Y

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #11
    That's funny! You're a funny guy...
     
  12. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #12
    At the office we're building a whole new virtual environment and I currently have 9 VM's running in VSphere (Vcenter) on a Nexsan with plans to almost double that by the time we're done.

    At home, on the iMac, with Vmware Fusion 7 I only have two VM's, Windows 8.1 and Windows 10 (Technical Preview). I do not run them at the same time, only one at a time.
     
  13. MacTCE macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    #13
    I have 10 running on my Mac Pro;
    Windows 7
    Windows 8
    Windows 10 Tech Preview
    MS Server 2003
    MS Server 2008
    MS Server 2012
    SQL Server 2008
    SQL Server 2012
    Cisco CM
    Cisco Unity

    I obviously don't run them all at the same time, but I've had 5 open without an issue.
     
  14. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #14
    Hmm let's see....

    I have:
    Windows 98 SE (just for fun) - 128MB RAM
    Windows XP Pro SP3 x64 (for nostalgia's sake) - 512MB RAM
    Windows Vista Ultimate x64 (for nostalgia's sake as well) - 4GB RAM
    Windows 7 Pro x64 - 4GB RAM
    Windows 8.1 Pro x64 - 4GB RAM
    Windows Embedded 8.1 Industry Pro (for making images for embedded systems) - 4GB RAM
    OS X 10.6 Server (for Rosetta) - 2GB RAM
    Elementary Luna - 1GB RAM
    Ubuntu - 1GB RAM.

    All these on a 27" iMac with 32GB of RAM. I only have 4-5 of them running at the same time though.
     
  15. macenied macrumors 6502a

    macenied

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    #15
    The limit is not how many you have, the limit will be how many you run in parallel. Your computer will tell you that limit.
     

Share This Page