How much Arctic Silver 5 needed

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by iheartzombie, Aug 24, 2009.

  1. iheartzombie macrumors member

    iheartzombie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    #1
    Hello,

    I searched the forums and googled this but I can't find out
    how much Arctic Silver i would need to apply to my MBP

    how many tubes would I need to buy?

    they are selling the 3.5g and 5.x gram tubes.
     
  2. Dan73 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #2
    Uhm, how many tubes?

    1.

    One will be enough to do a few computers.
     
  3. iheartzombie thread starter macrumors member

    iheartzombie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    #3
    great, thank you.
    sorry, i have another question.

    which is better AS5 or Arctic Ceramique?
     
  4. Dan73 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #4
    I can't really say, I would go read some reviews on both.

    I've only built 3 computers for my family and myself and have only used a little tube of AS5 and it works great. I think the Ceramique is newer so I don't know how well it works, sorry!
     
  5. MTI macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    #5
    Given the product and application, either will do fine. If it makes you feel any different, go with the cheaper one or the more expensive one if you have a preference on being frugal or extravagant. ;)

    In the application of thermal paste, less is truly more, since the purpose to merely to maximize thermal transfer by eliminating any air pockets between the chip's surface and the thermal panel/heat sink that comes into contact, rather than using more of the paste in an effort to improve heat transfer.
     
  6. slpdLoad macrumors 6502a

    slpdLoad

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #6
    You need very little. For desktop processors, a blob the size of a grain of rice is about right. Since this is a mobile chipset and there's probably no big IHS on top, you'll likely need much less. You want the thinnest possible layer that covers the entire area.

    I would recommend MX-2 over AS5 because the former is non-conductive.
     
  7. iheartzombie thread starter macrumors member

    iheartzombie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    #7
    awesome, thanks for the input guys, i'm grateful

    i'll just stick to the AS5 then and get the smallest tube.

    thanks again
     
  8. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #8

Share This Page