Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

sas76

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 10, 2006
Australia
I am just about sold on the new 24inch imac. But I have one further question. Are they that much better then the previos model ? Forget the 24 inch screen. What about the rest ?

I am in Australia and would be spending around $3500 (aus) for a new 24 inch,(2 gig ram 256 vid card) the standard 20 inch imac will cost about $2300. There are 20inch imac core duo's (previous model) on ebay and other places for $1200-$1500 and offical apple refurbished ones for under $2000.

I am sure I would notice the speed difference, but how much ? will the previous intel imacs be outdated sooner ?

I look foward to your responces.
Look I am a newbie and hope I have started a thread which people are willing to discuss
cheers
Shane

governor

macrumors member
Aug 31, 2006
Sweden
sas76 said:
I am just about sold on the new 24inch imac. But I have one further question. Are they that much better then the previos model ? Forget the 24 inch screen. What about the rest ?

I am in Australia and would be spending around $3500 (aus) for a new 24 inch,(2 gig ram 256 vid card) the standard 20 inch imac will cost about $2300. There are 20inch imac core duo's (previous model) on ebay and other places for $1200-$1500 and offical apple refurbished ones for under $2000.

I am sure I would notice the speed difference, but how much ? will the previous intel imacs be outdated sooner ?

I look foward to your responces.
Look I am a newbie and hope I have started a thread which people are willing to discuss
cheers
Shane

In many common every day tasks up to 20% faster with the C2D. So it's quite a leap if i may say!:rolleyes:

QCassidy352

macrumors G5
Mar 20, 2003
Bay Area
governor said:
In many common every day tasks up to 20% faster with the C2D. So it's quite a leap if i may say!:rolleyes: