How much did you know before buying?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by vpro, Oct 19, 2012.

?

How long did you spend learning the Mac you were gonna buy?

1. Jumped in blind and giddy for the latest and greatest, most expensive purchase!

10.6%
  2. Really familiar and savvy and took time to decide on major investment.

89.4%
  1. vpro macrumors 65816

vpro

Seems there are many people who jump blindly into buying a latest/greatest gadget around here. Who many of you spent a lot of time learning about something before committing to paying upwards of 3000 dollars for a gadget?

Many people just play games while others are photo / video hobbyists. I've been working with Macs since grade 3. I couldn't afford one until I graduated university. Only recently did I max out the late 2011 17" MacBook Pro.

What is your story?

2. tillsbury macrumors 65816

I'm not quite sure how to answer this. I just jumped in and bought it. After looking at the specs. Seriously, how long does it take to do this? A couple of hours after the keynote I knew all the specs, and had compared them with what was available from Sony/Dell/whoever. So I ordered one. Yes I knew it was new. Yes I knew you had to order the RAM upgrade or forget it. Yes I knew you had to order the SSD you wanted or be at very high risk of not being able to upgrade, at least for a while. Yes I knew the battery would probably need replacing after a few years and this would be possible but would cost. Yes I knew that I had to shell out for a TB-Ethernet adaptor (but to be fair I have never used it since the initial transfers). So, I consider that I spent a "lot of time" (a couple of hours) considering it. I wouldn't spend any more time than that deciding to buy a new car or a new house. But I also didn't need a new computer at all and had never used a Mac for 20 years, so perhaps I did just "dive in". What fun!

3. Abazigal macrumors 604

Abazigal