How much internal SSD will the Mac Pro ship with?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by the8thark, Jun 23, 2013.

  1. the8thark macrumors 68040

    the8thark

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #1
    How much internal SSD will the Mac Pro ship with?
    I'm really interested to know about this.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    We do not know, as Apple hasn't told us yet.

    But it is almost safe to assume, that it will be at least 256 GB, but more like 512 to 768 GB. But since the internal storage is mostly meant for the OS and applications and some user data, it is not meant to store heaps of TBs.
     
  3. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #3
    I think the minimum could also be 128GB. In fact won't OS X install easily on a 64GB drive? I guess with 64GB you could also install the last two versions of every single application Adobe offers. So I guess it could be...
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    It could be, but I guess Apple has an inkling, that 64 GB or 128 GB sounds a bit cheap for a professional computer.
     
  5. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
  6. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #6
    I'm sure you're right. I was thinking to specify possibility.
     
  7. DisMyMac macrumors 65816

    DisMyMac

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    #7
    So a small enough size effectively ties software to the OS.... :eek:
     
  8. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #8
    ties? Sorry, I don't understand. To clarify I was saying that OS X could be installed with room left over for all of the last two versions of everything Adobe produces. Just to get an idea of how large 64GB is.
     
  9. teleromeo macrumors 65816

    teleromeo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    kidnapped by aliens
    #9
    I just upgraded my MBP with a crucial M500 to 960 Gb, I won't go for less if I order a MacPro.
     
  10. animatedude macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    #10
    what! this is not an iMac or Macbook Air.....expect no less than 1024 GB! :cool:
     
  11. revisionA macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    #11
    I am thinking we'll see three versions like we do now.

    Perhaps
    6 core / 8 gig / 256 gb
    8 core / 16 gig / 512 gb
    12 core / 32 gig / 1024 gb

    and I would love to see those at 1999, 2799 and 3499 if possible.
     
  12. the8thark thread starter macrumors 68040

    the8thark

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #12
    Yes yes, those would be very nice price points indeed. But would people accept only 256GB in the base model? I think it'd possibly be 512GB, 512GB and 1024GB
     
  13. Erasmus macrumors 68030

    Erasmus

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    Hiding from Omnius in Australia
    #13
    I think if Apple released a 12-core, 32GB RAM, 1 TB SSD, and 2x HD7970/W9000 GPUs for $3.5K, I would buy one a-quick.

    I sincerely doubt it though.

    I think that 256GB is the most likely starting point, because it is a perfectly reasonable size for a single operating system, some large apps, and a lot of files. Hopefully Apple makes the upgrades reasonably priced this time, so it only costs ~$200 extra to get the 512, which I think is what a lot of people would be going for.

    I would bet on a 1TB top end. I am still hoping that Apple tweaks the innards of the new Mac Pro to try and squeeze a second PCIe SSD in there. In which case I think it would be 2x 1TB.
     
  14. foidulus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    #14
    Probably all comes down to where they want to price the entry model....The SSD is basically going to be the biggest variable in the price of the entry model, memory is cheap enough that it's not going to have a huge impact, and there isn't a lot of leeway in the other components.

    If they go with a small(256 gb, they won't go any smaller than that) ssd, then a $2k price point is feasible(ballpark cost to Apple for the non-SSD components is about $1600 or so). However if they feel like such a small amount of storage isn't worthy of the "pro" name, they may bump it up to 1 tb, but expect the entry price point to be $2500 if they do so.
     
  15. TRAV9614, Jul 1, 2013
    Last edited: May 15, 2017
  16. foidulus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    #16
    Obviously nothing "official" has been released, but from the promotional media on their website and the speech during WWDC, looks like blade-style.
     
  17. akm3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #17
    So with no screen, no SATA, no SD Card reader, etc compared to the iMac, much less materials, much less manufacturing cost (assuming the assembled in America doesn't complete blow that up), why COULDN'T the low end configuration be surprisingly cost effective while maintaining high Apple margins?
     
  18. JeepGuy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Barrie
    #18
    I agree, I can see a 4 core/8 gig/256g ssd, going for $1599.
     
  19. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #19
    Didn't the imac start with a 768 sdd (as an upgrade) only with no other config? I doubt the MP would be much less.
     
  20. Frost7 macrumors regular

    Frost7

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    #20
    I think most likely you'll see a 2TB top end considering all the leaks about Samsung and other manufacturers working with Apple on 2TB SSDs. I thought "why?" but "to put in a Mac Pro" makes sense.

    Here's my assessment: You'll see 512GB, 1TB, and 2TB options, with possibly 1 or 2 more in between. With Apple charging you your firstborn for 1TB and 2TB, instead of reasonable prices akin to Crucial's new M500s.
     
  21. scottsjack macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #21
    Oh ye of too much faith.
     
  22. Frost7 macrumors regular

    Frost7

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    #22
    If Apple has less than 1-2TB at least available in a Pro machine, their management is completely ******* insane.






    Which they may well be.
     
  23. AlexMaximus macrumors 6502a

    AlexMaximus

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    A400M Base
    #23
    Up to two..


    When you look at the MP pictures provided, you will see two locations available for blades ssd's. On apples webpage only one ssd is on a white socket on the back of the right gpu. They can put a second one on the Second gpu.

    So you will be able to put up to 2 x 1Tb SSDs in the New pro and every size below.

    :apple:
     
  24. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #24
    I wonder if the new Mac OS X 10.9 will allow you to use the Flash memory as part of a Fusion drive?
     

Share This Page