How much is actually user upgradable?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Zellio, Oct 22, 2013.

  1. Zellio macrumors 65816

    Zellio

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
  2. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #2
    Memory and CPU likely.

    GPU and SSD possibly, but if so, it'll be from Apple so it will be more expensive, later, and/or slower than third party solutions.
     
  3. TheDoc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    #3
    When discussing the SSD, it did have a note saying 'User accessible'. To what extent that really means, I'm not sure.
     
  4. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #4
    Yes, I agree with the above. Most likely at the least, CPU and RAM, PROBABLY SSD, even on MBAs the SSD is replaceable, just proprietary. Somewhat doubting the GPUs, just because of the form factor.
     
  5. thedarkhorse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    I think the only officially supported user upgrades will be ram and the blade SSD. It looks as though the GPUs might be able to be swapped out though apple would have to offer standalone GPUs for sale before they would officially support swapping them, CPU might be user swappable but that has never been officially supported.
     
  6. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #6
    Unless my eyes were mistaken I'm sure on the keynote when the can was rotated there was a long dimm sized module on the pcb which I presume is the PCIe SSD.
     
  7. Sappharad macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    #7
    One thing to point out on the product page:
    They make several references to a PCI expansion chassis on the Performance page, which I hope is good for 3 years from now when the onboard graphics are outdated.
     
  8. spaz8 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    #8
    Yes it would be nice to buy a Samsung 840 SSD an put that in instead of paying the apple tax. For a computer all about bandwidth and throughput you'd think they would talk about putting in a 2nd SSD, or raiding it etc.

    1TB of SSD space in the nMP is not much, and expensive.
     
  9. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #9
    They always hold something back to generously add in later.

    We can all see that 2nd PCIE SSD spot. Count on it being part of the 2014 "bump"
     

Share This Page