How much is in your bank account...?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by acearchie, May 21, 2012.

1. acearchie macrumors 68040

acearchie

Now I know around me this is a taboo topic but I figured with the supposed anonymity provided online that people might be a bit more open.

I am a student in the UK and still don't really understand the true value of money as I have yet to have had a paying job for longer than 4 months.

I am also lucky/unlucky enough to live with my parents whilst studying as I can't afford the London rental prices plus if I can save the money then why not.

I was wondering what people keep as their safety in their bank account. How much do you try and always keep in there for a rainy day/emergency (for example a new boiler).

I have always been a saver of money so I suppose some people will have lots saved up even if they don't necessarily have a high paid job.

In essence if you don't want to share how much you have I wonder if we could have a discussion on money in general and maybe how much you spend a week to maintain your current lifestyle?

2. mooblie macrumors 6502

mooblie

So, are you going to kick off with your balance?

3. acearchie thread starter macrumors 68040

acearchie

Yep sort of left that one out.

Well at the moment I am just south of £6,000. I am contemplating a masters degree and whilst it would be really nice to spend it on having lots of fun I realise that if I save now it'll pay off in the future.

I'm not an impulse buyer and tend to save for the more expensive things rather than buying small things. I probably spend about £40 a week on food and about £30-40ish on travel

P.s. before someone picks up on it. When I first started university living in london would have been too expensive especially since at that time I had no source of income.

4. ucfgrad93 macrumors P6

ucfgrad93

5. WRP macrumors 6502a