how much less portable is the 17" than the 15" macbook pro

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by phuong, Oct 14, 2008.

1. phuong macrumors 6502a

hello
    first of all i'd like to say that i am disappointed that there is no new mbp 17"

and that is the reason why i am re-considering my purchase decision: a 17" with current design or a 15" with new design.

at this point the only difference between them two, for me, is their portability. i was so 100% sure that i would get the new design 17" when it (supposed to) come out today.

as a former photographer/graphic designer, i always prefer the reasonably largest screen real-estate possible which is offered by the 15" and 17".
    Last year, the 17" didn't win because its resolution wasn't that much higher than that of the 15" while it was heavier.
    This year, the 17" has so much more resolution that it surpasses the drawback of being heavier than the 15".

However, since there is no new-design 17" today, the advantage is pulled a little towards the 15" again. and that's why i need those who have experiences with both these models to let me know what i lose if i get the 17" versus the 15" with new design? (especially concerning their portability)

I think the reason for no 17" new design is probably due to the fact that Apple are still constructing the unibody manufacturing process specifically for the 17" size. But it will be released eventually. The question is, who knows how soon because at least they want to clear out the inventory for the current design with slightly better configurations.

please don't answer me with "wait if you can, buy if you need it now" because i already know that. i don't utterly need a new computer now, but if there's no advantage of waiting (i.e., there's no new 17" design coming out in the next 3 months) then i should buy the 15" new design now.

2. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

Chupa Chupa