How much longer life?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by TSE, Jul 1, 2007.

  1. TSE macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #1
    Hey. I was wondering how much life my MacBook Core Duo with 2 GBs of RAM have? I was told by a guy at the apple store that Core Duo MacBooks wouldn't support some features of Leopard?

    I also read that Core Duo processors support up to 3 GBs of RAM but Mac OS X only lets it use 2 GBs, just like how Core 2 Duo processors support up to 4 GBs but Mac OS X only lets it use 3.3GBs?
     
  2. Cybergypsy macrumors 68040

    Cybergypsy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Central Florida!
  3. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #3
    The CD MB is not 64 bit, so it won't take advantage of that in 10.5. As for processors and RAM, I believe that the CD will not support more than 2 Gbs, and I think that's because of the processor... the C2D will display 4 Gbs, but the chip set can only use 3.3 Gbs, I don't think it's software. My new MBP will support a full 4 Gbs of RAM because of the SR chip set, MBs don't have a SR chip set so they only support 3.3 Gbs. There, someone back me up on this, but according to me, that's right.
     
  4. TSE thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #4
    Oh. Do you think Apple will release better drivers for the GMA 950? I just want some opinions. :cool:
     
  5. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #5
    Better as in how? Will Leopard make use of up to 224MB of shared memory for video like XP does? Maybe. Can Apple squeeze any extra performance out of the GMA950? Don't see how.

    To the OP. All PC and Apple hardware based on the Core Duo/945 (Napa) chipset can only use 2GB of RAM. I'm not sure if its a processor or chipset limitation and I am in the process of trying to find out. Core 2 Duo/Napa can use 2X2GB sticks to get 4GB of RAM, of which about 3.3GB is visible to the operating system. The rest overlaps memory addresses used by input and output devices. As to not using all the features of Leopard, 64bit is the only difference between Core Duo and Core 2 Duo and its more of a speed issue than anything else. At this point in time, few applications will be able to take advantage of it anyway.
     
  6. LeviG macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    #6
    It was 3GB and it was a chipset limitation.
    32bit os also has a similar limitation whereby some of the 4GB allowed ram is automatically allocated to other aspects of the pc reducing memory in the os (usually to about 3.25GB)
     
  7. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #7
    I have yet to see a Core Duo anything allow more than 2GB. Do you have source that shows it was a chipset limitation? I would also love to see that.
     
  8. Sopranino macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    #8
    Leopard will run fully functionally on your system, the only thing you won't get to use is the 64 bit functionality of Leopard. Everything else will work properly. Apple generally ensures that their latest OS incarnation works with older hardware (to a point). I believe that Apple has indicated that Leopard will not officially be supporting the PPC G3 processor.

    Sopranino
     

Share This Page