How much MBP do I need to run VmWare?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mavrick1903, Jan 6, 2011.

  1. mavrick1903 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #1
    Considering a MBP. Would be my first Mac. I'm a PC guy by trade, and will need to run Win Server 2008, Win 7, in two sessions using VmWare at the same time. Wondering what kind of HW requirements I need to make that happen?

    There may be other info needed, but, again first Mac, so I dont know what else to provide.
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    I think RAM is more of an issue than processor for you
    I would suggest 8 GB
     
  3. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #3
    Yep, RAM is where it's at. I have 3GB in my MBP (maxed out) and VMWare runs fine, but I have almost no RAM left free.
     
  4. Kenndac macrumors 6502

    Kenndac

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    #4
    I have an iMac, and agree that RAM is what's important.

    With 8Gb, I can run Windows 7 and Windows XP side-by-side with fairly generous RAM allocations along with a few Mac apps (email, iTunes, Safari, etc).
     
  5. croooow macrumors 65816

    croooow

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    #5
    You only need one.
     
  6. mavrick1903 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Thanks, not how many, how much hardware.
     

Share This Page