How much memory is too much for a 24" 2.4 GHz Intel core 2 duo?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by onebyone, Nov 17, 2007.

  1. onebyone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #1
    I recently purchased a 24" 2.4 GHz Intel core 2 and have the factory 1GB and need to upgrade it. I have read conflicting theories on if 4GB max will ever be actually used. I will mainly run PS and Aperture and will possibly do some video editing, I also like to run dual monitors. Can I get by with 2GB? I really do not want to spend more money than I need to.
     
  2. lord patton macrumors 65816

    lord patton

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
    Go cheap, but future proof yourself. Buy a 2 GB stick, and you can always add more later.
     
  3. snickelfritz macrumors 65816

    snickelfritz

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Tucson AZ
    #3
    I have 4GB in my iMac, and find it to be a phenomenal upgrade for PS + ID, but I have on a few occasions seen pageouts occurring in Leopard while working in PS. (70% allocation)
    4GB kit is only ~$125.00 right now; just max the system while RAM is cheap; you won't regret it.
     
  4. Leon Kowalski macrumors 6502a

    Leon Kowalski

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    Gondwanaland Reunification Front HQ
    #4
    Try adding 1GB, then drag ActivityMonitor.app to the dock and select the 'memory pie chart' dock icon. That makes it easy to keep an eye on memory usage while running your normal application mix.

    If ActivityMonitor shows that you're frequently memory-limited, upgrade to 4GB. At the rate memory prices are falling, you have nothing to lose -- delaying the 4GB upgrade by a few weeks will more than pay for a 'wasted' $25 experiment.

    LK
     
  5. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #5
    I tried to live with 2GB, but PS ate it all up, so I'd recommend getting a 2GB stick for now and you can always upgrade to 4GB later when it's cheaper. But don't wait too long or DDR2 will eventually become more expensive, especially when DDR3 becomes standard (DDR is actually more expensive than DDR2 for the same reason).
     
  6. jhkingsr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Location:
    NC
    #6
    Too much memory? Isn't that kind of like having too much money?............:)
     

Share This Page