Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

xtn

macrumors regular
Original poster
Apr 30, 2007
Los Angeles, CA
okay, so i've gotten pretty proficient using pages for a lot of advertising stuff, but i keep having one problem that i dont know how to solve. (1) my background is black (2) i insert a jpeg on top that has pictures and a black background. everything looks great, its all black, and it all blends nicely until i print the damn thing, and where my jpeg is placed the black is not...black. my guess is that the printer prints black twice where the image is, but how do i get it to not do this? i tried using the alpha function, but that only messes up the rest of the image. i even tried putting a white box directly behind the image to see what would happen, but no dice. i have adobe illustrator (have no idea how to use it), but i like using pages b/c its so simple and usually effective. does anyone know what to do or will i have to try and figure out how to use illustrator? thanks in advance!

chrisz

macrumors newbie
Aug 29, 2007
Illustrator goes up to 11

PS it doesn't really, I just wanted to add another Spinal Tap reference. Sorry!

smurfjammer

macrumors 6502a
Jun 7, 2004
Auckland, New Zealand
The Cause

I think the problem might be that your JPEG is RGB.

The JPEG might look like black but would be made up of Red, Green & Blue compared to Pages which the black would be a CMYK black using only the black channel.

RedTomato

macrumors 601
Mar 4, 2005
.. London ..
I've seen this a few times too, and been puzzled by it.

I've put images with a black background onto a page that has a black fill, then seen different tones of black on the screen or printing proof sample.

One frustrating time was with an image with a black background, extracted from a PDF delivery. In the PDF, it was black, but the extracted image had a greyish black background...