How much more difficult is Logic Express to use than Garageband

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by TheRockinDonkey, May 2, 2010.

1. TheRockinDonkey macrumors newbie

I've been using a mac now for almost a year. At first I was pretty impressed with it, but over the course of the past year, I've found that Macs are by far superior to PCs, even if there are some interface things that seem more intuitive to me on a PC.

But what really pushed me over the edge was when I started playing guitar again and hooked up my new Digitech RP500 to my Mac to use in Garageband as a MIDI controller. It just worked. No drivers to install. Talk about "plug and play". I plugged it into the USB jack and started playing.

So that brings me to my question. I've been using Garageband for about a month and have found it quite easy to use. I'm considering upgrading to Logic Express, but wanted to know what the level of difficulty in using it is compared to something like, say, Cubase LE. My RP500 came with a free copy of Cubase LE, but it was just too cumbersome to use.

Am I looking at a similar experience in Logic? I realize that I will be dealing with a much more sophisticated product than Garageband, so there will be an inherent increase in the difficulty in learning to use the product.

Thanks in advance to anyone who can shed any light on whether I should go for the upgrade.

2. Fishrrman macrumors G4

"My RP500 came with a free copy of Cubase LE, but it was just too cumbersome to use.
    Am I looking at a similar experience in Logic? "

In my opinion (and it's ONLY "my opinion"), you're looking at a much more difficult experience with Logic than with Cubase!

I started out with GarageBand, and from there experimented with Logic Express, Traktion (Mackie product), and the earlier and most-recent versions of Cubase LE (and also a little bit with Ableton - didn't like that at all).