How much of a difference does fusion drive make?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by yano729, Jul 28, 2014.

1. yano729 macrumors member

Hey, hows it going everybody. I recently purchased a new 21.5 iMac with the 2.7 ghz processor from best buy this past weekend. I got a great deal walking out the door with it for 1049 flat. I was very happy to get that price. However after using the machine for a couple of days, Im starting to wonder if the fusion drive would really make for a different user experience. I should note that I am running Yosemite beta currently. The machine freezes at some points and doesn't run as fast as I initially thought. Im thinking about returning it and ordering one with a fusion drive in it but then that will be an extra $350. I primarily am using this machine to store all my music (about 400 gigs), do some light photo and video editing, and some music production. Im not a professional in any of these and only do it as a hobby. I also plan to purchase a new 13 inch retina macbook when broadwell is released. Basically, I'm just trying to decide if its worth the extra money for the fusion drive. I am really happy about the price I paid for this machine so I jumped the gun. Thanks in advance for any advice or help.

2. SandboxGeneral Moderator

SandboxGeneral

Staff Member

The freezing is likely due to the beta software.

As for the fusion drive, it would be a dramatic improvement over a standard hard drive. You get the boot and app launch speeds of an SSD, while also getting massive storage space of a hard drive.

3. Roller macrumors 68020

@yano729: I have a 3TB fusion drive in my iMac - it makes a huge difference. However, you say you're running the Yosemite beta. Did you experience the freezes and slowdowns before you installed it? Running a beta OS isn't going to be a fair test of how fast your iMac runs.

4. Nuke61 macrumors 6502

Another for Fusion makes a huge difference in performance vs a spinning drive.

5. Fishrrman macrumors G4