Resolved How much RAM do you guys have in your PowerMac G5s? ;)

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by PowerMac G4 MDD, Sep 23, 2014.

  1. PowerMac G4 MDD, Sep 23, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2014

    PowerMac G4 MDD macrumors 68000

    PowerMac G4 MDD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Location:
    At the intersection of Conch and Coral.
    #1
    Just maxed out my dual 2.0Ghz system at 8GB of RAM and was just so excited that I had to post. xD What have you guys got in your PowerMac G5 systems? :)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2
    My Dual 1.8 is maxed out at 4 GB.
     
  3. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4
    16 GB? What G5 is that in and why on Earth do you need 16 GB in a G5?
     
  5. PowerMac G4 MDD thread starter macrumors 68000

    PowerMac G4 MDD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Location:
    At the intersection of Conch and Coral.
    #5
    Either 2.5/2.7Ghz DP or Quad-core. Man would it be cool to have a Quad-core with 16GB of RAM!
     
  6. Ih8reno macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
  7. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #7
    It's an old abused quad from the art department where I work. Now it's one of my PowerPC testing machines there.
     
  8. robertdsc macrumors regular

    robertdsc

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    #8
    My Dual 2.0, serving as a rock-solid DVD ripping Mac.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #9
    4gb in my single 1.8(8x512mb)

    10gb in my 2.0 dual core(2x2gb, 6x1gb)
     
  10. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #10
    When you say abused do you mean beat up looking? Have you ever gotten it to a full 16 GB of RAM used?
     
  11. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #11
    The original 512MB it came with, woohoo! Hahaha.
     
  12. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #12
    It was abused by way of not ever cleaned out or maintained. It was powered on continuously from about December of 2005 to June of 2011. Never opened, cleaned, or properly cooled (they used it as a coat rack of sorts). It was only replaced because the art people got a new Mac Pro, probably equally abused. I personally have never used all the available memory in it. The art people have and this machine has old tickets associated with it about it being out of memory. My personal most is about 7GB used.
     
  13. gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #13
    I have 4GB in my 2.3

    If I ever use the 2.7 I have to take 2 sticks out from the 2.3 since I don't have any other 1GB DDR sticks!
     
  14. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #14

    That pains me to see a Mac in distress. Glad you got it now.
     
  15. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #15
    Don't be too glad. It went from being physically abused, to mentally (sometimes verbally) abused. It's what builds the images for all the PowerPC systems left. It doesn't have a mind or hard drive to call its own anymore. Instead it defaults to an ever changing, almost broken NetBoot image from Deathraker.
     
  16. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #16

    Maybe one day I will find my own abuse victim and nurse it back to health with Leopard and a new SATA hard drive.
     
  17. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #17
    You have to be prepared to spend money to bring an abused Mac back. Or even better, work at a place where you can fix them.
     
  18. Nameci macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #18
    16GB on my Quad. Never have used the entirety of it. But it will help having some extra if need arises. The quad is now in storage, I am now living and working here in China. I have not move all my stuff yet. It will be a couple of months before I can fire 'er up again.
     
  19. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #19
    7GB in my DC2.0. Seemed like a nice round number.
     
  20. stewart1981 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    #20
    4gb, max for my 1.6ghz single processor. Never got near it all even with Sibelius 6 and several instances of Garritan Orchestra 4 in use.
     
  21. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #21

    I am fine with spending some money especially for a dual 2.3 or quad 2.5.
     
  22. CYB3RBYTE macrumors regular

    CYB3RBYTE

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Location:
    Midwest
    #22
    I would happily rescue a endangered quad G5 from the wild, and put it in a "habitat" if you will. The cool thing about G5's is that the parameters for what you can do with them is still high today.
     
  23. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #23
    G5's aren't all that amazing or powerful anymore. Most of the 2007/2008 Intell Macs outpreform them at nearly everything.
     
  24. stewart1981 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    #24
    What I like about the G5 power Mac is the option to upgrade components as opposed to the locked down new macs. Of course the modern machines beat them in sheer horsepower but especially the late DP and Quads are still very capable machines. Many of m colleagues in the professional music world still stick with them and produce cracking recordings. I always found that on a macbook the ram got hogged by virtual instruments but on a PowerPC it was much more efficiently handled. The ram seems much better used on these older machines.

    I actually work with a guy who writes musicals professionally and when he bought a new MacBook Pro after his G5 died last year he hated it that much he considered trading it in for another G5 until was talked round.

    As ever it is what you want it for.
     
  25. PowerMac G4 MDD thread starter macrumors 68000

    PowerMac G4 MDD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Location:
    At the intersection of Conch and Coral.
    #25
    I almost got a Quad-core but the place I was gonna get it from ran out of them... I bought my dual-core there instead. But man, 16GB of RAM... I am envious of that. I still very much want a Quad-core model and hope those sellers get one in. My dual-core 2.0Ghz is running so nicely that I cannot imagine how well a Quad-core will perform, considering it's said to be "80% faster" than a DP 2.7Ghz.
     

Share This Page