How much RAM do you have installed?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Tesselator, Jun 18, 2013.

?

How much RAM do you have installed in the MacPro or HackPro you use the most?

  1. 2GB to 4GB

    4.5%
  2. 6GB to 8GB

    11.5%
  3. 10GB to 16GB

    39.0%
  4. 18GB to 24GB

    13.0%
  5. 26GB to 32GB

    16.5%
  6. 40GB to 64GB

    11.0%
  7. Moe than 64GB

    4.5%
  1. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #1
    How much RAM do you have installed in the MacPro or HackPro you use the most?
     
  2. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
  3. jasonvp macrumors 6502a

    jasonvp

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #4
    Same.
     
  4. dexum175 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    United States
    #5
    16GB, will have 64GB once I get my hands on the trash can Mac Pro. ;)
     
  5. spoonie1972 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #7
    64gb in 4x 16gb chips. Will probably grab 32gb more as my needs escalate.
     
  6. Tesselator thread starter macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #8
    I got 32GB but I almost never hit the ceiling. I suppose 24GB would be fine.
     
  7. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #9
    Since it's a picture thread :p

    It looks like the vast majority of us will not miss the extra 4 DIMM slots
     

    Attached Files:

  8. jasonvp macrumors 6502a

    jasonvp

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #10
    ...assuming the 16GB DIMMs come way down in price, sure. My 48G is done with 6x8GB. :)
     
  9. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #11
    They're not to bad actually mine ran about $140 each.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Prince134 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    #13
    Same amount as yours. But I got it $109 each :p
     
  11. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #14
    Not bad at all

    I remember just a few years ago, a 1gb stick was over 100 for my mb
     
  12. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #15
    But I don't live in the states, I probably cold have trolled ebay until I found it cheaper but Jürgen always takes care of me so I'm good with the price.


    What kind is it and where did you find it? Is it dual rank or quad rank?

    ----------

    No kiddin..

    I think RAM has stopped it's downward spiral though for a while..
     
  13. Tesselator thread starter macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #16
    Yeah, both processors and RAM get cheaper with time. Didn't Apple want something like $3,000 for 32GB when the 2006 was first released? The void between my ears seems to be echoing up numbers like $2,800 and such like that. Or was it more than that?

    I think I paid $325 for 32GB here about 6 months back. Heh, I had to wait 5 freaken years for the amount I initially wanted to become affordable. :p

    Here's some info about CPU prices in March or 2009 (at the bottom): http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=7270035&postcount=179
     
  14. Giuly, Jun 18, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2013

    Giuly macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #17
    Kingston has 32GB DDR3L ECC DIMMs available, albeit 1333MHz CL9. They may or may not upgrade them to 1866MHz.
     
  15. phoenixsan macrumors 65816

    phoenixsan

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    #18
    Normally....

    64 GB. But in some occasions I go up to 96 GB....Never tested throughfully the 128 GB "magic limit"....:confused:


    :):apple:
     
  16. iPadPublisher macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #19
    I have 48GB and its been a real treat to never, ever run out.

    I bought the box stock with 16GB and quickly realized I needed more. I don't push the machine hard often, but when I am doing a few data intensive things at once, its nice to know it slices through it without any hiccups.

    I'm likely to do the same on the new Mac Pro, unless I can get 64GB cheap enough that I can justify it.
     
  17. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #20
    And they run about $750 each
     
  18. leon771 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #21
    32GB (8x4GB). Only cost $275 before the $AUD tanked against the $US. Only utilized the full amount opening a 26GB image file from a Leica microscope in an XP virtual machine. Usually have about 22GB free most of the time.
     
  19. Glen Quagmire macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #23
    4GB - 2x1GB and 4x512MB. These are FB-DIMMs (somewhat obsolete, expensive), which is why my Mac Pro has so little RAM.
     
  20. ValSalva macrumors 68040

    ValSalva

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    Burpelson AFB
  21. Giuly, Jun 19, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2013

    Giuly macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #25
    That, too.

    But actually, four DIMMs is the right thing to do if you look into the future.
    The next step after DDR3-1866MHz is DDR3-2133MHz, and the new Mac Pro likely runs that already if you happen to find suitable modules. Afterwards, you run out of JEDEC specifications for DDR3 and get to Haswell-EP Xeons at some point, which should look something like this:
    [​IMG]

    It comes with Quad-Channel DDR4, and that allows only for one DIMM per channel. DDR4 also won't set you back $750 for a single 32GB module.
     

Share This Page