How much RAM in the new (7th gen) iPod touch?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by ThomasJL, May 29, 2019.

  1. ThomasJL macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #1
    How much RAM is in the new 7th generation iPod touch?
     
  2. redheeler macrumors 604

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #2
    Very likely 2 GB (same as the iPhone 7), though it hasn't been confirmed for sure.
     
  3. Jerhen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    #3

    If you watch this review until the end when they run the geek bench it looks like 2GB.
     
  4. bodonnell202 macrumors 65816

    bodonnell202

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #4
    Yep just saw that video and if you pause at just the right second you can see that available memory is 1.96 GB, so 2 GB it is. It also appears to be underclocked to 1.6 GHz and has CPU performance comparable to the A9 in the 6s or SE.
     
  5. mikehalloran macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Location:
    The Sillie Con Valley
    #6
    Updating multiple apps (more than 3 or 4 at a time) crashes my Touch 6. With my other iOS devices, I can just hit Update All and it does. I've always blamed that on the 1GB RAM. So, 2G and faster chip is good but I have no compelling reason to upgrade mine to the latest and greatest.

    To preserve battery life, I never allow Auto Update or background processing. It's the only way I can get the "almost 40 hours" of music playback promised by Apple—and I do...almost.

    I still have my decommissioned iPhone 7+ and had the $29 battery special done last December. My first thought upon replacing it as my phone was, "Now I have an iPod with truly decent battery life". I use it for field recording, audio and video. I tried using my Touch 6 for this but battery life was horrible—if I got 2 hours with the Shure MOTIV video app, that was good. Now the 7+ gets that duty.
     
  6. *~Kim~* macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Is that a camera flash on the Touch? Seems odd that they would put one on an iPod but not any of the non-Pro iPads.
     
  7. Gravydog316 macrumors 6502

    Gravydog316

    Joined:
    May 17, 2016
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    Always been like that. Flash/flashlight on iPod, not old iPads
     

Share This Page

7 May 29, 2019