How much RAM is too much RAM?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by orangejedi, Oct 19, 2008.

  1. orangejedi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    #1
    Hi, i have an iMac G5 (2.0ghz), with 1gb of memory. The iMac is running leopard, which i can't help but notice is running much slower than tiger. Is this just because the processor is too slow (among PPCs, i think it's still pretty formidable...), or would adding, say, a gigabyte of RAM help? I'm not sure at which point adding more RAM is useless due to the general speed of the rest of the computer.
    Would appreciate advice,
    thanks
     
  2. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #2
    No such thing...

    Upgrade yours to the maximum. I did the max on my MacBook...
     
  3. Raptura macrumors 6502

    Raptura

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada / London, UK
    #3
    How much RAM is too much RAM?
    This is off topic a bit.
    But, if you're buying a Mac Pro 32GB is too much RAM. $10 000 dollars and a bit power drainer.
     
  4. Lexoticstylez02 macrumors 6502a

    Lexoticstylez02

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    #4
    Put the max RAM in that baby, RAM isn't that expensive these days. I recently bought 4GB for my iMac and it was only $67 from Crucial.
     
  5. sangosimo Guest

    sangosimo

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    #5
    I am going to echo the other users and say their is no such thing. You will see diminishing returns as you add more but it will never negatively affect your system performance because ram is not the bottle neck of your system
     
  6. secretpact macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #6
    Quick question - what number is the current generation of iMacs?
     
  7. Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #7
    Ha! Just did the same last night at $67 exactly with Crucial too, only except for my MBP. :D
     
  8. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #8
    Second. Couldn't have said it any better.
     
  9. tremulant14 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #9
    Haha, really couldn't have said it better. I wish I could put more than 2 gbs in my mbp, but it only supports 2 slots. :-(
     
  10. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #10
    I have the first Alu iMac, and it is version 7.1. So I would assume, the current ones are version 7.2.
     
  11. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #11
    I would say adding another 1 GB of RAM to your machine will drastically increase your speed and performance.
     
  12. Fonzijr1964 macrumors 68000

    Fonzijr1964

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
  13. Nukemkb macrumors 6502a

    Nukemkb

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    #13
    Looks like a pretty clear consensus. More RAM! (no such thing as too much...)
     
  14. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  15. Nukemkb macrumors 6502a

    Nukemkb

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    #15
    LOL! yes - ever so true.
     
  16. Mugwumper macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Location:
    Palmdale, CA
    #16
    Add the extra 1GB!

    I have the same system as you, and things definitely got better with the
    extra 1GB (unfortunately, 2GB is the max on our systems).

    Once I started running the 2GB environment, I started running more
    programs. ;^) What I have found is that normal Leopard things (like
    Dashboard, Spaces, etc.) when coupled with Word, Mail and Firefox started
    to make my fans run more. Or, just running EyeTV with no other apps
    would do the same thing. So while the extra RAM is helpful, it doesn't
    seem to help in overall processing - after all, it's only 2GB shared among a
    big OS and a bunch of apps, so there will be virtual memory hits. My guess
    is that all the switching between apps (or video things with EyeTV) makes
    the G5 work fairly hard.

    When I reduce the number of apps, the fan does calm down after 5 minutes
    or so, but it gets up to about 4400RPM and the temp to 145-150F.

    So yes, get the extra 1GB, but watch your app mix, and you'll be quite a
    bit happier.

    Hope this helps . . .
     
  17. durija macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #17
    You should have at least 2 GB in a G5 imac. But I don't see any reason not to max out to 3 GB.
     
  18. belvdr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #18
  19. orangejedi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    #19
    thanks

    Thanks for your advice, everyone!
    I think i will upgrade to 2gb, especially if i can do it for less than $100!

    so hey, you just may see some old imac ram on ebay soon!
     
  20. ZiggyPastorius macrumors 68040

    ZiggyPastorius

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Berklee College of Music
  21. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #21
    You can actually get 32 gigs of ram for $1500-1800 from OWC. And, for the 2006 Mac Pro, 16 gigs of ram sets you back $450.

    It's still overkill but you can never have too much ram, it's only beneficial to the user.
     
  22. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #22
    yes you can have too much ram. there is a point of diminsihing returns

    if your usage doesnt create any page out with 2 gigs of ram, why on earth do you need 10 gigs?

    at that point, its just wasting money

    get more ram when your usage requires it
     
  23. Fonzijr1964 macrumors 68000

    Fonzijr1964

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #23
    16TB

     
  24. orangejedi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    #24
    Well i know that, physically, too much ram won't hurt the system; my question was basically at what point it would make little or no difference to add more. i guess since the G5 ALS only supports 2gb anyway, it appearently would be a good idea to max it out.
     
  25. IroquoisPliskin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    #25
    2 or 2.5gb depending on which you have. With that little amount supported, max it out. Leopard averages 1.4GB of used ram doing normal web browsing and movie watching on mine.

    512mb was okay for the day but it doesn't cut it anymore.
     

Share This Page