How much ram should i buy for my MacPro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by wawathings, Jul 11, 2009.

1. wawathings macrumors newbie

Hello all,
    I am after some advice on how much ram i should buy for my:

-Octo 2.8 MacPro 3,1
    -2x1gb

I have all the stock hardware installed with no upgrades yet.
    The current 2x1gb ram isn't cutting it for me at all.

I am a design student who works allot with the cs4 suite mainly in web/flash/photoshop/aftereffects.

But switching over to architecture and allot of 3D work next year what is a good amount of ram to have in for this machine? 8gb - 10gb - 16gb ? they are the options I am considering.

Do you think that the macpro is in fact overkill for what i need would an imac or macbook pro be enough to perform architectural and 3d work ??

2. MovieCutter macrumors 68040

MovieCutter

3. wawathings thread starter macrumors newbie

Thats what i hear allot but to me thats bs...
    I can afford 32gb but I wont max out 32gb or ram so whats the point ?

Why waste money on something you wont use is my concern so do people find 8gb or then 16gb to be enough?

4. MovieCutter macrumors 68040

MovieCutter

Oh come on, go to 8GB or 16GB then. You can afford 32GB? But you're sitting at 2GB, I call BS myself. You're working 3D and you won't go to 32GB? Mac Pros EAT RAM for breakfast, and with Snow Leopard, they will even more. I have 8GB in my 2008 8 core and I'm going to 16GB next week. If you're doing anything with 3D, the more RAM the better, especially with AE or C4D.

You're asking for advice, I'm a pro, and I'm giving it to you. The more RAM, the better....

5. wawathings thread starter macrumors newbie

Ohk thanks for the response moviecutter i think 16 will be good, it was what i was leaning towards.

A second questions ?

4X4 or 8x2 ?

8x2 is faster from what i have seen but 4x4 lines me up for future additions and i can add the 2gb i already own?

6. isaaclimdc macrumors 6502

isaaclimdc