How much RAM to allocate Windows 7 (32bit) with VirtualBox?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Chase R, Jan 28, 2012.

  1. Chase R macrumors 65816

    Chase R

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #1
    How much RAM can Windows 7 (32bit) take in VirtualBox? I've heard that giving it too much can cause crashes and problems. I'll be installing 8GB next week, so there is plenty to go around :)
     
  2. Skyrim macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    #2
    I think 2GB is enough. 32bit windows can only address 3.2GB physical memory.
     
  3. thasan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    uk
    #3
    3 maybe? im using this for parallels. ive 256meg for the graphics card.

     
  4. Ccrew macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #4
    Windows 7 in a virtual machine is actually happiest with 1 proc and 1gb of memory. It's a technical dissertation, but it's about how it makes the memory calls through the hypervisor. adding procs and memory to the VM in most instances will actually slow it down more often than not.
     
  5. thasan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    uk
    #5
    interesting, didnt know that. but what happens if apps in win need more memory? im using the above settings in parallels and win runs without any problem at all.
     
  6. IvanOhio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    #6
    If you are running a 64 bit OS in a virtual box then then there no problem.

    32 bit Windows 7 will run on less than a 1 GB of physical RAM.
     

Share This Page