How Much Ram Total will Pro take

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by 700-Grizz, Dec 24, 2012.

  1. 700-Grizz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Location:
    ALASKA
    #1
    I have a late 2011 Pro--Spec's below
    2.4 GHz Intel Core i7
    4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3

    I want to get more ram and I have been reading a lot saying it will recognize 16G of ram with no problem--cool, but what I cant seem to find is Where does it say how much ram a particular model/year Mac Pro will take? Is there some place or tool that will tell a person how much (Max) Ram the Mac will take? Thanks
     
  2. Baunkjaer macrumors 6502

    Baunkjaer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #2
  3. BlaqkAudio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    You can use EveryMac. According to Intel, your processor supports up to 32 GB, but currently, there are no 16 GB sticks available.
     
  4. Barna Biro macrumors 6502a

    Barna Biro

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Location:
    Luzern, Switzerland
    #4
    Apple only offers a 8GB upgrade max. But if you want real numbers, you'll need to search for the type of motherboard and CPU that you have and see how much those can handle. Your system might actually recognize 32GB ( not sure though, never looked into it and I can't say I'm interested to find out ), but 16GB for sure is doable.

    That being said: by the time you will utilize such amounts, the CPU and other components will either already be or soon be the main bottlenecks of your system ( stuff that you can't just "fix", since you can't upgrade the CPU yourself, nor the motherboards, etc. ). If you are a power-user who really needs a crap-load of memory and processing power, then you should be looking at desktops / building your own system. Just keep that in mind...
     
  5. Spink10 macrumors 601

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
  6. 700-Grizz thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Location:
    ALASKA
    #6
    Thanks guys I found it, and like stated can go 32G. Think Ill stick to 16G as I currently have only 4G, that should be plenty.

    I know I could see a improvement going from 4 to 8G but would the extra 8 for total 16G be the way to go and notice even more improvement?

    Found Ram at crucial: 8G $48
    16G $81
     
  7. Spink10 macrumors 601

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #7
    All depends upon what you do - for most people 16GB is overdone.
     
  8. Valkyre macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    #8
    For most people 8 is already overboard! :)
     
  9. 700-Grizz thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Location:
    ALASKA
    #9
    LOL--Im sure 16G is overkill for me as I dont really do intensive stuff at all or even game on it. I do alot of downloading and run about 16 Firefox tabs at once lol
     
  10. Spink10 macrumors 601

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #10
    True :)
     
  11. 700-Grizz thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Location:
    ALASKA
    #11
    I read a lot about Page "in" and page "out" what exactly does that mean?

    Also I looked at mine and it says 488Mb page IN--- 222Mb page OUT. Also Swap Used: 13MB.
    So whats that telling me. thanks!!
     
  12. Livewings macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    #12
    If I not wrong, MacBook Pro support up to 32MB RAM right?
     
  13. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #13
    x1000 ;)
     
  14. Bluesky2011 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Location:
    London
    #14
    I'm going to buy base model MBP md101 with 4gb ram. I often do assignment, so If I open 30-40 tab safari ( or chrome) + using Yahoo + using Office at the same time, could it still work well? Will it be slow? Lacking of Ram or something? Can anyone help me.
     
  15. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #15
    4 GB RAM might be a bot low for this, 8 GB RAM should be better, and if you have a 2011 or 2012 model (can't decipher your model from "md101", you can even go to 16 GB RAM nowadays, for less than 100 USD.


    Performance Tips For Mac OS X_

    To learn more about Mac OS X: Helpful Information for Any Mac User by GGJstudios


    ----------

     
  16. A Hebrew macrumors 6502a

    A Hebrew

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #16
    My sister has a laptop with 3gb of RAM and she always has 30+ tabs open along with office. However, she is running Windows 7 which seems to be less of a ram hog than Mac OS X.
     
  17. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #17
    Reboot your computer, start using it in the morning, and take a screenshot of the "memory" tab of activity monitor at the end of the day, that'll tell us if you lacked RAM at any point during your day.
     
  18. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #18
    Any 15~17in from early 2011 (except the 2.0GHz) model supports up to 32GB DDR3.
    Except, no such module exist.
     

Share This Page