How much ram will this hold?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by iphonesrq, May 18, 2009.

  1. iphonesrq macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Tampa
    #1
    Macbook 2.4ghz core 2 duo?

    I found one that someone is selling & they say it has 6GB of ram? My MBP will only hold 4gb??

    thank you
     
  2. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    It could have 6gb installed but it would only be able to use 4gb. Seems strange though.
     
  3. iphonesrq thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Tampa
    #3
    so under "about this mac" should it say 6 or 4
     
  4. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    It should only say 4gb as that is the maximum that it can for want of a better word 'understand' if that makes sense.
     
  5. iphonesrq thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Tampa
    #6
    6 is correct?

    I went to crucial & ramseeker & they both say 4 is max??
     
  6. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    OP does the macbook have a nVidia chipset?

    I was assuming that it was an older model. I might of assumed wrong:(
     
  7. iphonesrq thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Tampa
    #8
  8. iphonesrq thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Tampa
    #9
    How can I tell if it has this new chip?
    Will it say under about this mac?
     
  9. Techguy172 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    #11
    If the MacBook is made of Aluminum then it can support 6GB of ram. otherwise it doesn't.
     
  10. Insulin Junkie macrumors 65816

    Insulin Junkie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    Mainland Europe
    #12
    See what chip you have here: About this mac > More info > Graphics
     
  11. iphonesrq thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Tampa
    #13

    No, it's white
     
  12. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #14
    4GB max then. Only the new 2.0GHz nVidia MacBook can do 6GB (and the Aluminum body one).
     
  13. iJimmy macrumors regular

    iJimmy

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #15
    6GB would be the max. It's more expensive and IMHO it's not worth it.

    But if you do decide to get 6GB you can get it from macsales.com
     
  14. Insulin Junkie macrumors 65816

    Insulin Junkie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    Mainland Europe
    #16
    At the risk of hijacking the thread... I wanted to add more ram to my 2.0 unibody, how much could I install while still seeing a boost in performance before installing more ram becomes useless? 4GB?
     
  15. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #17
    Depends if adding more RAM now would boost the performance. You have to look at Activity Monitor to see if you have less than 25% free/inactive RAM and if your pagein/out ratio is less than 10.
     
  16. iJimmy macrumors regular

    iJimmy

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #18
    You may find the answer you're looking for here
     
  17. Insulin Junkie macrumors 65816

    Insulin Junkie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    Mainland Europe
    #19
    Thanks folks, I'll go for the 4 gigs, definitely.
     
  18. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #20
    MacBook Pro: June 5th, 2007
    MacBook: November 1st, 2007

    Any laptop purchased new after it's corresponding date has the ability to unofficially support up to 6gb of RAM, excluding the current 17" and high end 15", both of which can officially support 8gb of RAM.
     
  19. maennj macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    #21
    Wow, I didn't know this. Thank god I didn't buy memory pair yet.

    I have a question though, will Mac OS X installed on Aluminum MacBook utilize the full 6 GB memory. The MB I bought has 2 GB memory.I didn't get it yet but I'm not sure if it has 64-bit version of the OS.
     

Share This Page