how much ram you think for ATV4 ?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Che Castro, Jul 30, 2015.

  1. Che Castro macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #1
    the current apple tv 3 has 512 MB

    what do you think the apple tv 4 will have?

    remember it needs to run games with the new app store , the fire tv has 2gb
     
  2. zaxxon72 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    #2
    I'd say 1gig. Why should it have more?

    iPhone 6+ happily drives a 1920x1080 screen with 1gig. Unless ATV4 goes 4k (which it won't), it doesn't need more RAM.
     
  3. Butchie-T macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Location:
    Colorado
    #3
    2Gb. A good number for plenty of growth.
     
  4. oneMadRssn macrumors 68040

    oneMadRssn

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    I think it'll have 1GB. It will probably have the A9 SoC, which has only had 1GB of RAM in any product.

    Plus, where people seem to complain about 1GB not being enough is with loading full desktop-size websites on Safari, multitasking away from those sites, and being annoyed that they reload when returning to Safari. That is not a usecase on AppleTV. There probably won't be a Safari browser, and I doubt there will be any significant multitasking.

    The most multitasking AppleTV will do is likely the picture-in-picture features demoed in iOS9. Those features work on devices with 1GB.

    That said, I hope it has more. Moar! MOAR! But I'm going to buy it regardless. I know it. You know it. Apple knows it.
     
  5. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #6
    1gb unless they give it the App Store with games etc then it'll be 2gb.
     
  6. Che Castro thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #7
    Any chance Apple would allow emulator apps on the AppStore
    For nes and others
     
  7. MacUser09 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    2GB. (A) to future proof, and (B) to keep up with Amazon.
     
  8. anubis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    #9
    0GB because Apple TV 4 will never be introduced.
     
  9. z31fanatic macrumors 6502a

    z31fanatic

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Location:
    Mukilteo, WA USA
    #10
    No way Apple will give you 2GB on a $100 product.
    There will be maybe 1GB but I wouldn't be surprised if they stick with 512MB. ;)
     
  10. ugcop macrumors 6502a

    ugcop

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Location:
    Traveling @ Warp Speed ...... USA
    #11
    Apple will include just enough to make it run minimally but not enough so that you can pass on the next generation.
     
  11. DavidLynch macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
  12. cynics macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #13
    2 things Apple has never worried about.
     
  13. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #14
    Zero chance. They actively remove any apps that are found to contain emulators.
     
  14. Che Castro thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #15
    After the latest rumors

    A8
    8gb 16gb
    Same ports as the atv3
    No 4k

    I'm going to say 1gb ram
     
  15. Ferazel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #16
    I'm guessing that it will use the exact same hardware as the iPod touch. Maybe a faster clock, but in general the same SoC, so in that case I'd say 1 GB.
     
  16. JackieInCo macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Location:
    Colorado
    #17
    Thy can try to make me upgrade on each generation but I won't. I'm still using my ATV2 happily.
     
  17. Che Castro thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
  18. From A Buick 8 macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #20
    I was worried about that as well, but yay it is here.
     

Share This Page