How often do you keep your 9600 GT turned on?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by asdfTT123, Aug 2, 2009.

  1. asdfTT123 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #1
    For the owners of a uMBP with switchable graphics, how often do you keep your 9600 GT on and what kind of tasks do you use the GPU for? I got the mid-ranged 15" model for the 9600 GT but I can't see myself using it until the release Starcraft II...and even after I have my desktop with an HD 4870 1GB. Do any of you regret purchasing the model with the 9600 GT?
     
  2. Bill Gates macrumors 68020

    Bill Gates

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #2
    I've switched to the 9600M GT twice, and only for a moment each time, since I got my MBP. I use Windows occasionally too, and under Windows the 9600M GT is the only GPU available for use.
     
  3. Sdahe macrumors 68000

    Sdahe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    #3
    I just switch to it and feels faster and smooth... I guess that in games is where you really feel the difference..
     
  4. jamesryanbell macrumors 68020

    jamesryanbell

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #4
    When plugged in (which is 75% of the time anyway), I always have it on. Honest reason? To prevent screen flicker.
     
  5. pnyc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #5
    100% of the time when plugged in, never when running on the battery. The 9600 GT seams "snappier" for Photoshop, QuarkXPress, etc.
     
  6. occamsrazor macrumors 6502

    occamsrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    #6
    I really wish there was a better way to switch between the cards without having to log out....
     
  7. vader26 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle
    #7
    I usually dont have a need for the extra power - so i'd say its switched on 10% of the time for me...
     
  8. jamesryanbell macrumors 68020

    jamesryanbell

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #8
    They should've found a way to just make it a "switch". Agreed.
     
  9. poematik14 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    #9
    When Im designing/drawing something I switch it on. But sometimes I forget to do it and honestly I dont notice the difference.
     
  10. fr4c macrumors 65816

    fr4c

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    Hamster wheel
    #10
    All the time. I don't mind getting only about 4 hours with the 9600GT on battery because I'm around power outlets all the time anyways.
     
  11. andrew upstairs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Location:
    Downtown Los Angeles
    #11
    I switch it on when I'm gaming or in Windows (obviously).

    Unfortunately, my screen flickers on the 9600 when the backlight is low. :mad:
     
  12. Finlandboy macrumors 6502

    Finlandboy

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #12
    dude, i dont even get 4 hours with the 9400 :( :( :(

    but i only use mine in xp. other than tht ive switched it on 3 times for the heck of it, lol
     
  13. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #13
    Would a manual switch be better for you? hehe

    Are other laptops like this that have dual graphics units?
     
  14. AMessy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    #14
    I haven't even tried it yet, had my MBP for a week and a half now.
     
  15. dudeitsjay macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #15
    on windows xp bootcamp nearly 90% of the time. Enjoying the performance on left 4 dead and counter-strike 1.6 and warcraft 3 DotA. Gets hot though! have to remedy it by smc fancontroling to 4000rpm in osx, then startdisk rebooting into xp to keep the 4000rpm running at that speed. I also place my 17'' ontop of a logitech n100 cooling pad. still gets hot to touch those f keys when i'm breaking zombie noses =\
     
  16. applebook macrumors 6502a

    applebook

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    #16

    Yes, some Vaio higher-end units.
     

Share This Page