How often do you workout?

macfem

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 11, 2010
I have been working out every weekday for 3 years straight. Mostly cardio, recently I have added weight lifting and kickboxing to my schedule to spice things up.

iOrlando

macrumors 68000
Jul 20, 2008
my schedule is like this:

mon night: 35-40 min weights
tuesday night: 300 push ups, pull ups, dips, ab workout
wed night: off ab workout
thursday night 35-40 min weights ab workout
friday: 300 push ups, pull ups, dips, ab workout
saturday: cardio workout ab workout
sunday: 35-40 min weights

of course i skip days, fall asleep, etc, etc. but that is my stated goal haha.

leekohler

macrumors G5
Dec 22, 2004
Chicago, Illinois
Since I was 25 years old, I've been lifting weights three days a week (and it's an intense Navy workout- 50 reps total on everything). I get all my cardio from walking everywhere. Living in the city, you walk a lot and climb a lot of stairs.

iOrlando

macrumors 68000
Jul 20, 2008
Since I was 25 years old, I've been lifting weights three days a week (and it's an intense Navy workout- 50 reps total on everything). I get all my cardio from walking everywhere. Living in the city, you walk a lot and climb a lot of stairs.
what exactly does 50 reps do compared to doing a well-paced 12-14?

I use to do 1000 push ups in a sitting, and i see more results when doing 300 a sitting.

Melrose

Suspended
Dec 12, 2007
I have kind of a core workout I do three times a week, and then a few extra stuff I do if I'm feeling up to it.

It centers around leg lifts, pushups and/or benchpress, weighted sit ups, military presses, squats, and my chinup bar.

But to answer your question, three times a week. While I'm very regular at it, I don't obsess over it and if I don't feel up it I either take it easy or skip it altogether.

I've been getting into Chen style Tai Chi and I like it. It's called an internal martial art; improves balance and energy.

leekohler

macrumors G5
Dec 22, 2004