how often does your apple tv freeze?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by iSaygoodbye, Feb 9, 2009.

  1. iSaygoodbye macrumors 6502a

    iSaygoodbye

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    a boat
    #1
    Mine personally has never frozen before. But according to Tallest Skil if your Apple TV doesnt freeze your lying and dont have one. So how often does your apple tv freeze
     
  2. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #2
    Can't remember it ever freezing. Have had it for a few months. No Mod's.
     
  3. tom1971 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
  4. iSaygoodbye thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iSaygoodbye

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    a boat
    #4
    then according to Tallest Skil neither of you actualy have an apple tv
     
  5. dmm219 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    #5
    As state below. Mine freezes when I attempt to change resolution.
     
  6. tom1971 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #6
    Well, he probably knows better what I have in my living room :rolleyes:
     
  7. iSaygoodbye thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iSaygoodbye

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    a boat
    #7
    and mine.:p
     
  8. VTMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
  9. Chris Rogers macrumors 6502a

    Chris Rogers

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    my house
    #9
    Mine freezes 1-3 times over a 2 week period. Sometimes the only way to resolve it is to unplug it
     
  10. liquidtrend macrumors 6502

    liquidtrend

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Location:
    HOUSTON, TX
    #10
    haha i like how you pulled tallest skil into this thread...

    ive had my appletv since... (looking up receipt information) ... june 2008.
    i have NEVER had any problems with appletv feezing on me.
    i have however had problems with appletv syncing.

    never feezing.
     
  11. jmf8 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
  12. iowamensan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    #12
    Not since the last software update... before that it would freeze every time I changed inputs on my receiver. Something to do with the HDMI handshake.
     
  13. Mr Kram macrumors 68000

    Mr Kram

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #13
    in 6 months of operation, it has never frozen.
     
  14. iSaygoodbye thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iSaygoodbye

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    a boat
    #14
    i didnt pull him in it. i said i never had mine freeze then he said i didnt have one. so i made this thread to find all the lyars!!! haha:p
     
  15. pjarvi macrumors 65816

    pjarvi

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Location:
    Round Lake, IL
    #15
    Mine doesn't freeze, it just stops working right. :p After 1-3 weeks of normal operation it will show a white screen when trying to play movies. I have to reboot it to get the video working again.
     
  16. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #16
    I'm confused at the purpose of this thread, but I think I'll roll with it.

    There is a general rash of freezing.

    If yours hasn't, good for you; that's awesome.:cool:

    Let it be known, however, that the guy calling me out here also said that absolutely no one ever turns off their computer.

    Here is the relevant exchange:

    Generalizations do not a good argument make.
     
  17. TheCheapGeek macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #17
    Neither of my apple TV's has frozen in a long time, and i do keep my iMac on all the time. But i agree with tallest skill that the apple tv should have an off button just for convenience. And i would really love to have a central server that can feed all of my apple tv's without having iTunes running.
     
  18. iSaygoodbye thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iSaygoodbye

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    a boat
    #18
    so would i would love to not have itunes running. and most people dont turn there computer off its just fact
     
  19. Alrescha macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #19
    I'm curious, why do you say this? What's better about a 'central server' than your iMac which you say you never turn off anyway?

    (On topic: My Apple TV does not freeze, but it sure gets unresponsive during a sync)

    A.
    (whose Mac Mini *is* the 'central server')
     
  20. dernhelm macrumors 68000

    dernhelm

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Location:
    middle earth
    #20
    I know, when I first saw that I laughed. After all, it is really a nonsensical statement. What is a central server other than a computer running iTunes all the time? Go buy an XServe if you want a headless server product that is designed to run continuously.

    But seriously, I do get what he's saying, what I thought Apple might do is to turn the time machine product into a centralized media server as well. It wouldn't be hard - have it host the iTunes database and files, allow iTunes running on your iMac (or whatever) to manage it, and allow multiple macs/Apple TVs/iPods, whatever to access the content.
     
  21. mastershakess macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    Bel Air, MD
    #21
    I see no freezing issues with mine.

    An on/off would be nice.

    IMO having the computer on while streaming seems basic (why is this a problem?) You are more than welcome to sync any information to your ATV if you don't want to stream.
     
  22. iSaygoodbye thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iSaygoodbye

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    a boat
    #22
    that is exactly my point sync the dang thing
     
  23. Robbadore64 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #23
    LOL. This awesome. My first one froze all the freaking time. It was in an area with no ventilation and got pretty hot. Eventually it just stopped working all together.

    They replaced it and at the same time I bought a house and a new open and airy media center. Now my new one breaths fine, and has never frozen (that I can remember in the last 6 months I've had this one).

    So, I used to be honest???
     
  24. rikers_mailbox macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Location:
    LA-la-land
    #24
    An asthmatic entertainment cabinet?

    But seriously, good to know. My refurb ATV arrives tomorrow (!) and I was going to cram it into the space above my upscaling DVD player. Would have been a tight fight. Now I'll need to rearrange some things to make more "breathing" room.

    Can't wait to play with the thing, configure it, sync it, hack Boxee on it, play with multi-room AirTunes, Remote.app, etc. A system engineer's wet dream.
     
  25. iSaygoodbye thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iSaygoodbye

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    a boat
    #25
    the remote app sucks haha. i think they should make the app a apple remote but on the touch screen
     

Share This Page