How often does your touchbar crash?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jackoatmon, Dec 19, 2016.

  1. jackoatmon macrumors 6502a

    jackoatmon

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    #1
    Hey ya.

    Just trying to figure out if I should exchange my machine. For me, the touch bar either completely crashes (goes black and requires computer restart to come back) or a bunch of buttons become unresponsive until restart, about 2-4 times per day of work. Usually seems to happen while in Safari (maybe I just go back to Chrome...). It's really annoying because escape is (i'm learning) the most important key on the keyboard after spacebar hahaha.

    Anyway, is this the way other peoples' machines behave?
     
  2. dyn macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    .nl
    #2
    I'm not using it that much but thus far I haven't had it crash once. There are some other people who've reported something similar like you and it seems that all of you have the 15" MBP version, mine is the 13" one. This could also be some issue with macOS or the app that is freezing which also freezes the touch bar. Have you tried digging up some log files in Console?
     
  3. jerryk, Dec 19, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2016

    jerryk macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #3
    I have not heard this happening before. You should get them to look at it. The touchbar has a similar processor to the Watch and a it's own software. So if something is going on they may be able to do a fresh install of touch bar software.
     
  4. SurfaceBookUser macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    #5
    Never happened to me. Once in the past month mine stopped registering input but that was fixed by re-logging into my account.
     
  5. raqball macrumors 68000

    raqball

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    #6
    Mine has never completely crashed but it does glitch out quite often...
     
  6. myscrnnm macrumors 65816

    myscrnnm

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #7
    I have never had the Touch Bar crash on me. But in the first few days, bringing up the emojis on the TB and then switching to another app would cause the emojis to persist on the main display. Hasn't happened again since though.
     
  7. bevsb2 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #9
    Never. No problems with the touch bar on mine. 15" base model.
     
  8. ardchoille50 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    #10
    Yeah, the Touch Bar runs a modified version of watchOS.
     
  9. lobo1978 macrumors 6502

    lobo1978

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
  10. ascender macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
  11. blairian89 macrumors 6502

    blairian89

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #13
    I have not had any issues with my TouchBar as of yet.
     
  12. Softwarez macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    #14
    Mine never crashes. But there's is an audible crackling noise caused by the touchbar starting up from a cold boot.
     
  13. jackoatmon thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jackoatmon

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    #15
    ok so sounds like it's not very common at all !

    or at least not ubiquitous

    i might ask apple / get a new machine, then

    one thing i've learned from having to work without the touchbar often now, is that including the esc key as part of the touch bar was an enormous error

    i'd be willing to bet that next year's MBPs will have a physical escape key opposite the on/biometric, and the touchbar running between 2 hardware buttons
     
  14. jerryk macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #16
    Agreed. If you spend time using a text editor or any other tool that requires you to press the esc often you want a physical key.
     
  15. Softwarez macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    #17
    In settings, you can change the "~" (Tilda) key into escape. As far as my coding experience goes, I have never used ~ except in linux commands.

    EDIT: Whoops, I made a mistake, apparently you can only remap hardware keys. I remember reading somewhere that you can could map any key to esc, but I guess not.
     
  16. jackoatmon thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jackoatmon

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    #18
    Yeah I started a thread asking if anyone knew any way to make ~ into escape, but no one on the board knew of anything

    You used to be able to do it with 3rd party programs before Sierra came out.
     
  17. jerryk macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #19
    But some of us use ~. Try programming in R without it.
     
  18. Branskins macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #20
    I've had the emoji bar keep crashing on me in Messages, but quitting and reopening the app fixed it
     
  19. Westbrook0 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    #21
    I have a funny problem using Whatsapp; if I click the emojis button using the trackpad, it lags like crazy. If I press the emojis button on the touch bar, it works perfectly!
     
  20. Cvx5832 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    #22
    I haven't experienced mine crash like OP described it. Launch-day 13" TB 512
     
  21. Branskins macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #23
    That emoji button always lags for me too in Messages! The Touch Bar is much faster when it hasn't crashed on me lol
     
  22. xergic macrumors newbie

    xergic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Location:
    Ostrava, Czech republic
    #24
    Every time it turns off after some idle time. When I move the mouse it flashes once and goes dark again. Touching the bar shows only the button used... Pressing Fn key shows F keys and it's almost fine - apart from missing Esc key.

    No need to restart. But is't really annoying.
     
  23. MarcBou macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    #25
    Mine crashes allways when using the App "Duet display", at least using premiere Pro.

    The brightness and volume keys won't work, well, they work if I have the 2 buttons config (volume down/volume up, and same with brightnes) but it doesn't work when trying to use the press and hold, so i have to reset the macbook to get it back. For now when using Duet display I'll have to use the other brightness and volume controls.
     

Share This Page