How portable is the 15" MBP?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by nahsor, Jun 25, 2009.

1. nahsor macrumors member

I am a college student and am looking to buy one of the new MBPs. I would like the 15" one but I don't know if it going to be very portable. And so I am leaning towards the 13" one. The main thing is that I like to watch movies and that is the only thing that will be better on the 15". I know most of you will say buy the 13" and then get a monitor but I don't like to sit on a computer chair and watch movies :D (I prefer my bed). However, #1 priority is portability so if the 15" is too much to lug around, I wouldn't mind settling for the 13". People who own 15" and 13" (and hopefully those who have owned both) want to chime in with their opinions?

2. chrmjenkins macrumors 603

chrmjenkins

The weight difference is only a pound. It matters if the dimensions are going to be a problem for you. My guess is that if you can haul around the 13, you can the 15.

3. supermac1 macrumors regular

I first owned a 13, now own a 15. I plan to get a 13 next because it is more portable and cheaper. I will hook up to an external display for video editing, but for watching a movie, I don't think the 13 is all that bad at all.

4. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

I don't own both, I own a 15" and my sister owns a 13". While the 13" is undoubtedly more portable, I've never been in a situation where I've thought "Gee, this computer is just too bulky for me to transport to and fro work every day...".

5. smartalic34 macrumors 6502a

smartalic34

I'm also in the situation where I have a 15" (original core duo MBP) and my sister just got a new 13" MBP.