How powerful is the Macbook Pro vs the Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Gunga Din, Jan 28, 2008.

1. Gunga Din macrumors 6502

This will be my first Mac. Everyday I switch between the notebook and tower. I'm interested in doing alot of video work, iMotion , iMovie etc. I'm not a professional....yet :) but i'm interested in perhaps making my own movie. Will the Macbook Pro be powerful enough?

I like the portability a notebook offers, thats the only reason i'm asking this. Do any video/movie professionals just use the Macbook Pro?

How does it run some of the really powerful video editing software?

2. heatmiser macrumors 68020

No comparison. One uses eight Xeon processors. The other uses one dual-core laptop chip. One has a 32gb ram limit, which owners frequently take advantage of. The other has an 8gb limit, half of which isn't accessible due to an absence of 4gb ram sticks. Similar differences exist in graphics cards, caches, and more. You do the math.

3. tstarks33 macrumors regular

Yeah, you can't really compare the two.

Now, if you want to know if the MBP can handle what you need it to do, then that's probably a different question (that I can't answer :) )

4. Pressure macrumors 68040

Pressure

You will be severely limited by the performance of the 2.5" internal notebook harddrive.

They do not even compare when running processor intensive applications.

5. Gunga Din thread starter macrumors 6502

Yea, I must have been on crack when i asked this stupid question. Mac Pro FTW.

Though I might just go with the 4 Core and put some $$ into memory and 2 more HD's

6. ziwi macrumors 65816

ziwi

Seems to be a decent choice unless you need portability.

The 4 core price is close to the iMac 24" price with the extreme 2.8 chip.

Here are some benchmarks that include the single 4 core chip in action:
    http://www.macworld.com/article/131782/2008/01/macprobench2.html