How robust is the physical TB connection?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by nightfly13, May 14, 2011.

  1. nightfly13 macrumors 6502a

    nightfly13

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Ranchi, India
    #1
    I'm planning to sell my 1,1 Mac Pro and upgrade to an iMac. I don't need massive power (only have a Mac Pro for its upgradeability and capability to support 4 displays). I plan to run my 30" Dell monitor + the iMac most of the time, but I'll also run a HD projector approximately 3 times a week.

    Here's my dilema: do I spent the extra money for the 27" to get an extra TB connection so I don't have to hot-swap the 30" for the projector 3 times a week.. would that continual wear and tear be problematic? The dual-link DVI switches I've seen are expensive, $350 and up (and seem to share 1 monitor with 2 systems, not 2 screens with 1 system), so might as well get the 27" iMac. There won't be a time when I need both the 30" and the projector simultaneously, so I'm thinking to go cheaper but don't know if that's a long-term solution.

    Input appreciated.
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    If it's anything like the MDP connection it's very solid. Almost too solid...
     
  3. DisMyMac macrumors 65816

    DisMyMac

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    #3
    For any port that you're going to be swapping frequently, buy the shortest extension available (or even a hub) and leave it in the computer.

    I wish more connectors used clips instead of relying on the connection itself.
     
  4. tsugaru macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    Edmonton
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    True. However USB is fairly solid without needing any extra clamps.
     
  5. Farthen macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Location:
    Germany
    #5
    Clips have other problems. They break very easily if you aren't *super* careful with your cables and wrap them in a velvet cloth or something similar ;)
     
  6. omvs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #6
    If you're worried about stressing the port on the iMac, can you hook the projector into the mdp->duallink-dvi adapter (I assume you'll need one for your 30")

    I've done a fair number of swaps on my macbook pro, and the connection feels very solid.


    One other noteworth items - once in a while I seem to get a bit of 'snow' on dark sections when using the MDP->dual link converters. This occurs on both my mac-mini->HP 30" and my macbook pro -> ACD 30". Never happened when I drove the HP or ACD directly from a dual-link dvi card, so my suspicion is its coming from the adapter(s).
     
  7. nightfly13 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    nightfly13

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Ranchi, India
    #7
    Good thought, here. I can use the same dual-link MDP-DVI adapter and swap the DVI cable, rather than swap two adapters. Neither solution is very elegant, the 27" is rather attractive. Thanks for the input!
     

Share This Page