How secure is a journaled drive?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by JonnyThunder, Oct 12, 2008.

1. JonnyThunder macrumors member

Hello,

I'm REALLY new to mac (but loving it) and have a few questions regarding security. I've got the mac installed whatever way it came out of the box, but am running Mac OS X 10.5.5 updated to it's latest.

I've also bought an external Maxtor drive which I planned to use for backups and suchlike (not using TimeMachine). My questions are :

1. How secure is a drive formatted as "Mac OS Extended (Journaled)" in general?

2. Is this security still in tact on an external drive formatted the same way?

Thanks,
    JT

2. hughvane macrumors 6502

hughvane

What sort of "security" is of concern to you? HFS+ (hierarchical file structure - journaled) is as secure as any file system. It certainly fails less often than, for example, NTFS.

As for your external Maxtor, if it's only going to be used for backup, then it does not need to be formatted HFS+, simply HFS. However, if at some stage you decide you do want to use the Maxtor to boot your Mac, you will need to format it HFS+ and use a firewire connection.

3. JonnyThunder thread starter macrumors member

So, if I format the drive as HFS - can someone then take that portable drive to another mac and view the content - or do they need the password of the account which created the files / folders? I basically don't want someone being able to steal my portable drive and view the content on another Mac!

4. richard.mac macrumors 603

richard.mac

yes anyone can view it. you cant really secure a whole hard drive by itself unless its connected to your Mac under a password protected login.

btw hughvane Intel Macs can boot via USB or Firewire ;).

5. JonnyThunder thread starter macrumors member