How should I backup

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by conamor, Oct 26, 2014.

  1. conamor macrumors 6502

    conamor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    #1
    Hello,

    So I have this 3TB fusion drive iMac.

    How should I proceed with the backup if I have a 3TB time capsule and a 3TB Porche Design external HDD.

    Is there anyway to time machine to the porche and then copy all that to the time capsule or the other way around?

    Let me know how you would proceed

    Thanks
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    You can backup to the TC then in Airport Utility there is a way to "archive" the TC disk to a USB drive attached to the TC itself. But this will copy the entire backup to the external every time you do this and it is slow as hell and you will want to gouge your eyes out before it is done. I would not bother.

    [​IMG]

    If your goal is multiple backups, just setup the TC to backup normally with Time Machine, then plug the second drive directly into the Mac and setup Time Machine to backup to it also. TM can backup to two drives like this at once and it will alternate. This is the better way to go.
     
  3. conamor thread starter macrumors 6502

    conamor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
  4. glenthompson macrumors 68000

    glenthompson

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia
    #4
    I would use time machine to backup to the time capsule and use Carbon Copy Cloner to make a bootable copy on the external drive. Always good to have two different backup methods.
     
  5. conamor thread starter macrumors 6502

    conamor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    #5
    Oh this is a good idea too,
    Ill have a look at that software.
     
  6. conamor thread starter macrumors 6502

    conamor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    #6
    What do you think about encrypting the iMac drive and so the backup is encrypted in the time machine?

    I heard some people saying it can break, does it?

    I suppose that as long as you have the password, you are fine?
     
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Two separate issues. You need to turn on Filevault encryption on the Mac, then also turn on encryption for Time Machine for the backups. Turning on encryption on the Mac alone does not encrypt the backups.

    Like you said, as long as you don't forget your password, you are fine. It is very reliable. If you want, there is an option to have Apple keep a recovery key form you.

    First thing I do after setup is turn on encryption on any Mac I buy.
     
  8. conamor thread starter macrumors 6502

    conamor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    #8
    Ok.
    I think I could also simply create a dmg with a password to encrypt the sensitive data...

    I am very scared of being stolen. I think I am going to use a cable lock for the iMac and I was think of an "AirBase: Apple AirPort Extreme/Time Capsule Wall/Ceiling Mount" from girosdesign for the Time Capsule but I think I am doing too much for nothing, hehe.
     
  9. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #9
    If you are using Time Machine, when you select the disk you will see an option in that screen to check a box to enable encryption for the TM backup.

    If you are backing up with something else, yes you can put the backup inside an encrypted sparse bundle image. Or what I do is just encrypt the entire partition in Disk Utility.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page