How should I best protect my battery?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Vincent52, Aug 16, 2013.

1. Vincent52 macrumors newbie

Long story short, I had a lifestyle and work-load that requires I have a laptop I can use like a desktop for both work and play. With quad-core i7, a decent dGPU, and 8gb RAM, that became my Retina MacBook Pro.

Currently I got the thing dual-booted with Windows 7 as well as the usual Mountain Lion OS, and use this thing for classes, at-home entertainment, heavy gaming (especially on the Windows 7 side), coding (I'm majoring in computer science, so guess this again falls under classes, though xcode is not usual class fare), and constant multitasking.

The battery so far performs like a champ giving me 5 hours during noticable multitasking and for most general uses when I'm depending on it for work. But as the load gets heavier, or when I start to game, I notice the difference as when get into the 3.5 hour range or lower. I ESPECIALLY notice the difference in Windows 7, where I'm pretty much unable to ever squeeze more than 4.5 hours out of it and I quite usually get 2-3, but I assume that's because it only recognizes and uses my Nividia 650 dGPU.

Now, I'm not so dense as to think that I should be getting my 7 hours during any of this. They plucked that number from web-browsing with the computer until it died, not doing anything of actual substance, and normally I'm pretty happy with how my battery does for me. Tripping the dGPU means less. Clocking the cpu harder means less. Doing both enough to drain the battery near daily means a bunch less.

But the problem is quite simple.