Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jonkob

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 14, 2007
Ok, I am new to Mac. I just got a macbook Pro, 2.3 with 2gigs of memory, Just got it today and love the machine. I am having a hard though figuring out the nuances of a Mac, coming from a PC. For one thing, how do I copy and paste text? there is notHing to right click, lol......and when I insert a CD with files or photos on it, how do I save those files and photos? I dont know where to put them, or how to even extract them from the CD to ge them onto the mac.....THANKS IN ADVANCE

gauchogolfer

macrumors 603
Jan 28, 2005
American Riviera
command-c is copy, command-v is paste.
Command is the key with the apple on it.

You can get right-click functions by pressing control as you click, or by enabling 2-finger right clicking in your system preferences.

To get pictures off of the CD, just browse to it in Finder, then drag them all to whatever folder on your computer that you like. Same for your music files. You can then import them into iPhoto or iTunes as appropriate, if you wish.

Since you're obviously new to the OS X scene, I'd suggest taking a look at some new user guides; there are some here at Macrumors (in the Guides section) as well as on Apple.com. There are of course a number of books you can buy as well.

Mac 101
Switch 101

Welcome to MR, and congrats on your very nice machine.

dpaanlka

macrumors 601
Nov 16, 2004
Illinois
You can turn on right clicking in your System Preferences, it's done by putting two fingers on the trackpad then clicking, or by holding down Control while clicking (desktop mice have two buttons).

You can also hit Command + C to copy, Command + X to cut, or Command V to paste.

You can also usually choose all three from the "Edit" menu of whatever program you're in.