How thorough is a Time machine backup?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Imola Ghost, Jan 31, 2012.

  1. Imola Ghost macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I would le to know if a time machine backup would/will backup my VMWare Windows side also?

    I've got Quickbooks running in the Windows 7 side and wanted to know if it backs up that also.
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    If you don't exclude your vmware directory it will back up your entire windows vm image, which you may not want because TM will back that up every time you boot windows.

    I manually copy my vmware image because I don't want 30gig of data being backed up constantly.
     
  3. willieva macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    #3
    Using tm to backup a virtual machine is a bad idea. The vm files are constantly updated, so they will be backed up everytime tm runs. This will be many gig of files being backed up, which could be detrimental to your network.

    Also I wouldn't trust a tm backup of a vm. The files backed up at the beginning of the backup process might not match the ones from the end. Doing a restore of a vm backed up by tm might not work everytime.
     
  4. william1949 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Location:
    Victoria, BC
    #4
    Can only go by what happened to me. Two weeks ago I had a total hard drive failure. New Hard drive - I got everything back from my Time Machine back up including VM. Everything seems fine, however I do not anything really critical on the windows side (some taxes, and they seem fine). I also do find the backup process overly long (I also only back up twice a day instead of hourly - Time Machine Editor).
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    If you manually back up your VM to an external drive and then exclude it from TM, your back ups will go a lot quicker. In my case as I stated, my VM is 30gb and that would get backed up all the time if I don't exclude it.

    The other downside is that such a large file means that I'll have less history available because TM will have to delete old backups to make room for new ones.
     
  6. william1949 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Location:
    Victoria, BC
    #6
    Whoops: I was trying to say "I do not find the backup process overly long" - my original post was awkwardly worded and not what I was trying to say.
     

Share This Page