How to access an instance of a viewcontroller

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by LT21j, Apr 30, 2013.

1. LT21j, Apr 30, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: May 2, 2013

LT21j macrumors newbie

I have a problem with an app I am creating. FYI I am a newbie and this is my first major project so I might be missing some basic mechanics/ information. But here it is, I am wondering how I can access the instance of the view controller thats created automatically in storyboard via segue. The basic design of the app is that I have a main view but then the user presses a button to go into an information view. This information view contains a table view which contains dynamic table cells. Each cell has a two labels and a button. The way I want to have it is when the user presses the button that I have connected to the custom table view cell class I want it to get the information and then segue to another view controller called schedule view. The problem I am having is that I don't know how to get the instance of of the information view that is automatically created. I'm trying to use the method [self performSegueWithIdentifier:mad:"toSchedule" sender: self];

Any help would be much appreciated.

[EDIT]
    Here is my code:
    Code:
    #import "TeacherViewController.h"
    #import "SchoolStaff.h"
    #import "ClassViewCell.h"

@interface TeacherViewController ()

@end

@implementation TeacherViewController

-(IBAction)returned:(UIStoryboard *) segue
    {
        //what the heck
    }

- (NSInteger)numberOfSectionsInTableView:(UITableView *)tableView {
        // Return the number of sections.
        return 1;
    }

- (NSInteger)tableView:(UITableView *)tableView numberOfRowsInSection:(NSInteger)section
    {
        return _classList.count;
    }

- (UITableViewCell *)tableView:(UITableView *)tableView cellForRowAtIndexPath:(NSIndexPath *)indexPath
    {
        static NSString *CellIdentifier = @"classViewCell";