How to activate Facetime ?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by jigsb007, May 2, 2011.

  1. jigsb007 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #1
    Experts ,

    i have jailbroken iphone4 with FM 4.3.2.
    i am not able to see Facetime icon in any of my contacts. so i found out that i need to turn it ON in the contacts settings. When i turn it on it shows the msg. "waiting for activation" what is this for ?

    its an Att iphone and never been used on att network. so when i jaibreak it, i also Hactivate it w/o att sim.

    what do i need to do in order to get face time ?

    Thanks
     
  2. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #2
    There's your problem.

    Use MiTime.
     
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    You need to activate it officially with an AT&T simcard, not hactivate. And you can only use facetime if you're using it on official carrier and not unlocked with a different carrier.
    Or try mitime like the poster above said.
     
  4. jigsb007 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #4

    thanks for your reply..

    But, cant i even use over wifi ?
     
  5. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    #5
    Yes, but the phone needs to be activated because your # is your ID.
     
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    Exactly, so you will need a valid AT&T sim and people will see that AT&T number when you try to facetime other people.
     
  7. jigsb007 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #7
    Sorry guys, its bit confusing for me.

    i am a Tmobile customer. so there is no way i can put att sim. but i do have couple of my friends who are att customer with iphone.

    Can i put one of their sim to my iphone and use it for 5 min. and then again put my gevey sim and tmobile sim card to my iphone4 , will it work ?

    Or with Tmobile , YOU CANT DO FACETIME !!! PERIOD.

    How, does this MiTime works ? and where do i get ? cydia ? or installous ?
     
  8. iLoyal macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #8
    I have the same issue with OP except that I have a factory unlocked IP4.
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    If you're using a Tmobile sim then you have to purchase and install mitime from cydia to use facetime on unofficial carrier.
    No other way around. If you're factory unlocked you have to JB first and then install mitime from cydia.
     
  10. bbmiLo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    #10
    When you turn on the Facetime, it is activated only if you have a valid cellular connection, in other words you need to have a working SIM card in the phone, because the phone will exchange text msg with the Facetime server.

    It does NOT have to be AT&T SIM, as long as your phone has a working SIM in it.
    My phone was also a AT&T locked USA phone, I unlocked it using Gevey SIM in Shanghai, and my facetime worked once I inserted a working Chinese SIM.

    Further more, after activation, Facetime can work without cellular service.
    I am in New York right now, I have my Chinese SIM in the phone, which does not work here because I don't have international roaming on it. The phone is basically an iTouch right now, but I still can use Facetime while on wifi.

    In your case, if your phone is unlocked and have working Tmobile service, then I guess your Tmobile # failed to register with Facetime server.
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    But if the carrier doesnt support facetime on their network facetime will never activate. And thus the only way to use facetime with a tmobile sim and phone number would be by using the cydia hack "mitime".
     
  12. bbmiLo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    #12

    Oh I see, I had no idea Tmobile doesn't support Facetime, that sucks.
     
  13. iLoyal macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #13
    Thanks for the replies. I have T-mobile with unlimited everything, a valid/working sim inside the phone and my iP4 is jailbroken on 4.3.1. When I tried switching FaceTime on, all I get is waiting for activation and it just never end. Also when I tried searching for MiTime in Cydia, I couldnt find it.
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    Yes, usually unofficial carriers that dont sell the iphone you cant just activate facetime without hacking it with mitime.
    More info like repo that needs to be added and pricing on their site:
    http://mitime.info/
     
  15. jigsb007 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #15
    Yep !

    mine says the same ..waiting for activation.....

    Now, i dont know anything about tmobile , wather they support facetime or not..But i am not able to find Mitime in cydia or installus.

    where do i get it ? i have added lots of cydia sources too...

    Am i missing something ?

    please Help. ! Also what BBmiLo says..even with chiness Sim , he could use facetime over wifi.

    then if thats the case then , i should be able to use over wifi. forget about Tmobile network.
    But, for my wifi, the Facetime server should accept my request....dont you think ?
     
  16. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    Add this source to Cydia cydia.pushfix.info
     
  17. gngan macrumors 68000

    gngan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #17
    Installus is for pirated app that is in official App store. Do you think Apple would allow an app that illegally activate Facetime on App store? lol

    Didn't someone just gave you a site for MiTime? GO THERE AND READ IT!
    http://mitime.info/instructions

    Can you believe it? They have instruction! Even their cydia source!
     

Share This Page