Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

NickM

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Feb 24, 2009
USA
How do I add a shortcut to my Windows XP partition onto my OS X desktop?
There was one originally, but last night I installed Parallels so I can boot that Windows partition, but then my shortcut to access that partition's files disappeared from my desktop. Now there is only the link to boot it via Parallels. I also want a shortcut to simply access the files.
How can I put one back on there? (yes, I'm very new to OS X)

I'm sure it's simple, but I'm having trouble figuring it out.

Thanks for any help!:eek:

EDIT:

Nevermind... after finally rebooting, it showed up again.

However, I would like to know how to manually add a shortcut to other partitions myself.
Please help :)

redsteven

macrumors 6502a
Aug 22, 2006
Apple refers to a shortcut as an "alias", because it sounds super sophisticated and awesome.

To make an alias of ANYTHING in the finder, you can do one of three things:
1) The super lame method: Click on the file/disk/folder/whatever and go to the File Menu (or right click) and choose "Make Alias"

2) The not-quite-as-lame method: Use the keyboard shortcut "command+L" after highlighting a file/folder/disk

3) The awesome method: Click and drag your file/folder to where you want to put the alias, but before setting it down there, hold down "command+option". When those two keys are held down (and you're dragging a file), you'll see the mouse turn into a little arrow. (That might sound sort of strange because the mouse pointer is always... an arrow... but this is a DIFFERENT, squiggly looking arrow). If you release the mouse button while holding down command+option, the original file will remain where it was, and an alias will be placed where you dropped it with your mouse.

Of course, to do this you need to do be able to find the original file in the first place.

NickM

macrumors 6502