How to add simple High Score function to game?

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by Ryan Burgess, May 2, 2013.

1. Ryan Burgess macrumors 6502

Hi guys, I'm just learning how to code and I created a very simple, yet fun game (with help from a tutorial) that I want to add a high score function too. I can upload the source code below in a zip folder.

Anyways, I basically want to add a "Highscore: X" in the upper right corner of the screen, and have the ability for the game to store the 5 highest scores, and that players name.

I'm not sure how to do it, or if its even possible but if someone with expierence could help me out I'd really appreciate it!

Attached Files:

2. truehybridx macrumors member

You could keep the high scores in a plist, load it into memory, and compare and shuffle values when the high score rankings change

3. Ryan Burgess thread starter macrumors 6502

That sounds right based on my tinkering with other games, but I literally have no idea how to write that from scratch...is there any tutorial on the Internet I could follow, or if its simple could someone post it here?

Thanks!

4. ArtOfWarfare macrumors 604

ArtOfWarfare

Look at the documentation for NSUserDefaults.

5. xArtx macrumors 6502a

Don't know if it's the best way, but right now I'd also use NSUserDefaults.

If it's five or so scores, I think the best way to deal with it is sort the arrays
    in order of high score values, and save them by whatever means in keys
    that are numbered from 0-4 or 1-5 (at high score time).
    Then at program start you can read them back in correct order with no effort.

6. charmofmaking macrumors member

I would break it down into small bits and use it as a way to learn to write your own code.

Start with putting a number into a variable and getting it back out. Use NSLog to output to the console while you get things working. Once it works you can then decide how to present it on the screen using text or pictures.