How to Avoid Huge Fees Abroad with iPhone....?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by fab5freddy, Mar 16, 2008.

  1. fab5freddy macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
    #1
    Is there any good advice to using your iPhone Abroad in Europe without
    being charged through the nose....?

    What should i do at cafes if i just want to surf the internet..?

    and to receive calls in Europe how much is that ?

    thanks!
     
  2. fastbite macrumors 6502a

    fastbite

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Make sure that Data Roaming is OFF. Make sure that Mail auto check is manual. Have fun in Europe!
     
  3. mouchoir macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    I went from Europe to the US in January and avoided any real change in my bill.

    As the above poster says –*turn off data roaming –*this is the big money saver. Data roaming charges can be outrageous.

    You just need to be disciplined and hold out for any FREE Wifi hotspots, of which you will find in most major cities. Use those opportunities to check mail and surf.

    Regarding receiving calls, you need to check with your service provider for a list of rates.
     
  4. yoman macrumors 6502a

    yoman

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Location:
    In the Bowels of the Cosmos
    #4
    If you are with AT&T you can temporarily subscribe to a travel plan for a month at a time. I think its around an additional $25-30 but it cuts down on the phone charges substantially and allows you to use data up to a certain cap limit.
     
  5. matthewHUB macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
  6. nickspohn macrumors 68040

    nickspohn

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #6
    If he's just going there as a vacation or just temporary... :rolleyes:
     
  7. fab5freddy thread starter macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
    #7
    So, Is it possible to use the iPhone as an iPod Touch....
    when abroad in Europe ? ( to avoid the data roaming charges )
     
  8. acfusion29 macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #8
    Well, there is WiFi, there is an iPod... so yes?

    Leave your sim card at home if your scared about your bill.
     
  9. fab5freddy thread starter macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
    #9
    ok, but the question is:

    Will the iPhone work without the SIM card...?
     
  10. SilentLoner macrumors 65816

    SilentLoner

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #10

    Yes as long as its already been activated.
     
  11. skwoytek macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    #11
    As the other people have said, yes.

    If you are trying to avoid data roaming charges...

    Settings -> General -> Network -> Data Roaming:Off
     
  12. fab5freddy thread starter macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
    #12
    ok, thanks !
    because AT&T are going to try to rip you off
    any way they can to milk you of roaming charges !
     
  13. SilentLoner macrumors 65816

    SilentLoner

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #13
    unless you answer your calls and dont use data no.
     
  14. hondje macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    South Bend, IN
    #14
    Unlock iPhone or Use RAZR

    I have a similar question. I'm flying to the Netherlands for a week. I do have a T-Mobile SIM for the Netherlands, as I lived there for a year, and still have a plan there (just call time). Wondering if it is worth unlocking my phone for this and then relock it when I return. I'm running 1.1.4. How would I go about unlocking it? Or would it be better to just use my old unlocked RAZR and use the iPhone as an iPod? Thanks for your help.
     
  15. carfac macrumors 65816

    carfac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    #15
    For you, I would recommend unlocking. The OP looked like they did not need/want phone service while there, so unlocking did not seem like a good proposition for him. For you, though, you seem to need ot want phone service- the only way is to unlock. Then you should be just fine.

    Unlocks have come a long way-you CAN reverse them if you want "no trace" left". I would recommend the iPlus unlock for you, they d/g the BL to 3.9, but with a special hack so you can upgrade it back to 4.6 when you are done. (I am not sure HOW to upgrade it back- that is a GOOD question!)

    For me, since I am T-Mo in the US, I am just get a local pre-paid when I am over in Europe. Seemless.
     
  16. zainjetha macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    #16
    unlock it and then when you return restore and re-activate with ur old sim again.. nobody will ever know the difference....
     
  17. hondje macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    South Bend, IN
    #17
    Well that seems to make sense. iPlus says it is completely reversible. Has anyone tried reversing it? Safe? Seems a lot more fun than using my RAZR! Thanks for the help.
     
  18. fab5freddy thread starter macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
    #18
    that is true that i don't want to pay huge roaming costs while abroad,

    but it would still be nice to be able to make super short calls and receive some short calls as well while over in europe, but the data charges are what i am afraid of........
     
  19. TranceNW macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Location:
    Essex, United Kingdom
    #19
    Turn off data roaming, dont check your emails or surf the internet using the cell network. Make your calls very short.

    Its all a matter of common sense.
     
  20. windsurfer12 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    #20
    iPhone-no sim card

    Can I use my iPhone in the South Pacific without the sim card
     

Share This Page