How to back up iphone/ipod touch when installing snow leopard?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by TheNorthWaves, Aug 27, 2009.

  1. TheNorthWaves macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    I felt it more appropriate to post this here, rather than the osx forum since it's really an iphone question. If I am planning on upgrading to snow leopard (and foregoing the upgrade/install option for a clean wipe and fresh install), is there a way I can get my iphone to work with the new OS without reformatting the device? I'm afraid that I'll install everything new on my same old computer, only to plug my device in and get that message "your device is synced with another computer, do you want to sync and erase everything?". I don't want it to erase all my stuff on the device. Anyone care to assist? Thanks.
     
  2. zacheryjensen macrumors 6502a

    zacheryjensen

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    #2
    The synchronization association is made between libraries not computers. Keep your library intact and load it into iTunes after you start up the new OS before plugging in the phone and it should make the association. You may want to deauthorize your computer before reinstalling, in iTunes, because it will identify your fresh install as a new computer for purposes of DRM authentication (for the Apps, etc.) but that shouldn't effect your synchronization.

    This sort of thing is why I keep my iTunes library on an external drive.
     
  3. TheNorthWaves thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    thanks a bunch for the clarification. I plan to basically just drag and drop the itunes folder on to the external hdd and then back on to the new machine. Is this fine or am I missing something?
     
  4. samcraig macrumors P6

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Question

    I'm on a relatively new iMac (my first). I'm getting snow leopard when I get back from vacation. Never done a Mac OS update. Are you saying that I'll do an install and then things may be out of wack (itunes, etc) - or will it just install over and I don't have to do anything to other programs?

    Will I have to reinstall things like CS4, Final Cut, etc?
     
  5. The Californian macrumors 68040

    The Californian

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    Surfers Paradise
    #5

    No, Apple gives you two options. You can either upgrade and install ( which just upgrades your OS and keeps everything intact ) or you can do a clean wipe and install. The former is the most common.
     
  6. TheNorthWaves thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    yeah don't worry about it messing with your settings. I'm wiping it clean, that's the only reason why I have to do extra stuff.
     

Share This Page