how to backup ipod touch to mac

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Nadasive, Feb 10, 2008.

  1. Nadasive macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Location:
    Henderson, Nevada
    #1
    I'm looking for a way to backup all my music and videos in my ipod touch to my MacBook Pro. Anyone know how?
    I just want to have my music backed up just in case something goes wrong. ;)
     
  2. aethelbert macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #2
    Don't you have your multimedia content stored in iTunes?
     
  3. samh004 macrumors 68020

    samh004

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A93 Safari/419.3)

    Considering your iPod touch uses the music from your MBP it will already be on there.

    I believe iTunes backs up settings from your touch anyway.

    You should be backing up your music that's in iTunes to a hard drive or something.
     
  4. Nadasive thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Location:
    Henderson, Nevada
    #4
    I recently installed Leopard and now i lost all the music. The only place I have my music is in my ipod.... So what you guys are saying is that i have to re-download everysong??
     
  5. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    you installed an operating system without backing up your important files?
     
  6. quicklook2 macrumors 6502

    quicklook2

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    lakewood, ohio
  7. Nadasive thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Location:
    Henderson, Nevada
    #7
    There wasn't any important files to backup. All my important files where on a flash drive
    but thats not important. Is there a way to download my music from ipod touch to computer??
     
  8. quicklook2 macrumors 6502

    quicklook2

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    lakewood, ohio
    #8


    i guess your music was not that important.
     
  9. 156457 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Obviously no one is interested in helping.

    There is lots of free software out there which allow you to do this, do a Google search for Senuti.

    :):apple:
     
  10. Nadasive thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Location:
    Henderson, Nevada
    #10
    Senuti Requires me to put it in disk mode and so does a lot of all the other programs...
    How do you put iPod Touch into Disk mode???
     
  11. Tosser macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #11
    You can't. That is one of the things Apple deemed "unnecessary" to give to users.
     
  12. Nadasive thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Location:
    Henderson, Nevada
    #12
    Wow... This is one good reason to get pissed at apple :mad:
    Thanks anyway
     
  13. Tosser macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #13
    No problem :)
     
  14. 156457 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    Sorry if I'm wrong here, but why not jailbreak your iPod touch, then add the SSH app, that adds disk mode access does it not? Sorry if I'm wrong.
     
  15. BrownManUPS macrumors 6502a

    BrownManUPS

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #15
    Wait, so "manually managing songs and videos" is not putting it into disk mode?

    Hmm
     
  16. aross99 macrumors 68000

    aross99

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Location:
    East Lansing, MI
    #16
    You can always contact Apple and they will let you re-download all of your purchased music - but it is a one time deal.

    Are you sure your music is really gone? That shouldn't happen from a leopard upgrade, unless you reformatted your drive.

    I assume you have looked in your music folder in your user folder and the iTunes music folder is empty? Maybe your library is messed up but the music is still there?
     
  17. MVallee macrumors 6502a

    MVallee

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #17
    Try this:
    http://www.fadingred.org/blog/articles/2007/12/08/senuti-with-iphone-and-ipod-touch/

    This is from the creator of Senuti's blog. It details how to use the program to work with the iPhone/Touch. Also there is a link there to an experimental version of the program that works with the iPhone/Touch.

    Let me know how this works. Having 4 iPods on 1 computer requires me to manually manage music and backup only my playcounts/ratings. I plan on getting a Touch very soon and hope to still use Senuti.
     
  18. teerexx52 macrumors 68000

    teerexx52

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Florida West Coast
    #18

    I use this with my touch and phone to tale music from them back to computer

    http://www.findleydesigns.com/ipodaccess/
     
  19. Tosser macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #19
    LOL, no. Can you use it as a usb-stick and drag, say, a pages doc or the app you're going to test over at your friends onto it? Nope, manually managing your songs is not disk mode.
     
  20. zumpy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #20
    Anapod Explorer

    If you have access to a pc you can try Anapod Explorer. I used it recently on my wife's Nano when her harddrive failed. It worked very well.

    zumpy
     
  21. YuriVoorhak macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
  22. quicklook2 macrumors 6502

    quicklook2

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    lakewood, ohio
    #22
    i have suggested podworks many times in other posts.

    it will do what you want.
     
  23. Andrew D. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #23
    So is Senuti not compatible with iPod Touch's? I'm lost like a little puppy in a big city.
     
  24. Nadasive thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Location:
    Henderson, Nevada
    #24
    Thanks for all the posts guys i got it to work by using SSH app on my itouch.. Its been Jailbroken for some time and I didn't know that SSH did that...
    Thanks :)
     

Share This Page