How to boot Snow Leopard as 64bit kernel?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Wowzera, Jul 25, 2009.

  1. Wowzera macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Brazil
    #1
    I've seen something about com.apple.boot.plist, but I need a little more further information.

    After type:
    Code:
    ioreg -p IODeviceTree -w0 -l | grep firmware-abi
    I receive the following from terminal:
    Code:
    | |   "firmware-abi" = <"EFI64">
    Looks that I am able to run 64 bit kernel.
    My computer is a white macbook early 2008. Core 2 Duo T8300 2.4GHz.

    If anyone can make a small guide, please!
     
  2. kropotov macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #2
    i hope after today's update (over 743mb) maby it will possible. not now.
     
  3. doctoree macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Location:
    Secret lair/ Earthmiddlepoint
    #3
    Some say you have to hold the 6 and 4 keys when booting (everytime you want 64bits) but its not working here for some reason...
     
  4. Riemann Zeta macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #4
    Make the new parameter "Kernel Flags" and give it the value "arch=x86_64" in the file com.apple.boot.plist (/Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/). Worked for me--no more holding 6+4 every boot; this is on a penryn MBP (early 2008, pre-NVIDIA chipset). Just in case, be sure to uninstall any third-party kernel-level drivers (kexts)--especially the logitech mouse driver packages.
     
  5. doctoree macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Location:
    Secret lair/ Earthmiddlepoint
    #5
    Thanks for your quick response! I just want to test the 64bit mode once without messing in files. On my early 08 Penryn MBP holding the 6 and 4 keys (which is said to be booting into 64bit mode UNTIL the next reboot) doesn't work.

    Edit: I have taken a look into this file and I wasn't able to figure out how to extend it with this new param. I'd appreciate a copy of how you inserted the code!
     
  6. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #6
    That only enables it for those in the list of tested machines.

    The flag in the plist is the best bet. I just wish I could tell if it actually worked.
     

Share This Page