How to bulk convert MP4 to ProRes422 - Compressor

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by scouser75, Jan 31, 2016.

  1. scouser75, Jan 31, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2016

    scouser75 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I have a large number of MP4 clips (H.264) which I need to convert to .mov files (will use ProRes422) in order to be able to use them in FCP7.

    I am using Compressor 3.5.3. But when I drag a clip to create a job I get this message "Error trying to open source media file.". What am I doing wrong?

    Also, is there a quick way to bulk convert lots of clips?
     
  2. Gwendolini macrumors 6502

    Gwendolini

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Location:
    random
  3. e1me5 macrumors member

    e1me5

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    #3
  4. scouser75 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    #4
    Thanks guys. Odd thing is, Qt and Compressor are up-to-date. I also tried MPEG Streamclip. And neither of these 2 are accepting the H264 .MOV file!

    I'm at a total loss!
     
  5. BeechFlyer macrumors regular

    BeechFlyer

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    #5
    scouser75,

    I was a late convert (only about six weeks ago) going to Final Cut Pro X, having used Final Cut Studio until then. I've used Compressor in the past for this type of batch conversion.

    With OS X updates coming and Final Cut Studio getting older, Compressor got more and more unstable. At some point I switched to QuickTime - less convenient for mass conversions, but still doable. But even then I ran into issues, mostly FCP simply not recognizing some of the converted ProRes files, maybe one out of ten files, for no apparent (to me) reason.

    Since then, I've switched to FCP X and the new Compressor, and I couldn't be happier. Things that used to be fragile simply work now, and they work quickly.
     
  6. Gwendolini macrumors 6502

    Gwendolini

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Location:
    random
    #6
    Can you share a small H.264 .mov file with us to maybe take a look at it?
     
  7. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #7
    There is something in those video files QT is not liking. I've run across this before, but I think Bigasoft's Prores converter was able to sort things out. But certainly FCPX and the newest compressor seems to be much better and I haven't had to use Bigasoft for awhile short of windows media files.

    They do offer a free trial for you to determine if it can help.
     
  8. scouser75 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    #8
    Thanks again guys for the help.

    BeechFlyer - I have considered skiping from FCP to FCX. But over the last year or so, it seems that the way to get editing jobs is to be say on Premiere. I used Premiere many years ago and wasn't at all impressed. But it seems (from what I hear and read) that it's come along way since then!

    Gwendolini - Thank you for the offer. But unfortunately I don't think my client would like me to share the clip.

    Coldcase, I'll give ProRes Convertor a go.

    Fingers crossed....
     
  9. kohlson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    #9
    There was a Compressor update today -- maybe it will help.
     
  10. laurim macrumors 68000

    laurim

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Location:
    Minnesota USA
    #10
    When I want to process a lot of files, I make a Compressor droplet (right click on a Setting and Save as Droplet...) and put it on my desktop. Then I can drag files onto the droplet, it opens up a window and waits for Location and confirmation to go and then processes everything.
     
  11. scouser75 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    #11
    Thanks guys.

    Alas, not even the compressor update solved my problem.

    Thankfully, I got someone else to convert the files for me. But for future, I have to somehow suss out why this is / isn't happening!
     

Share This Page