How to cause a Kernel Panic

Discussion in 'macOS' started by powerbuddy, Jul 7, 2007.

  1. powerbuddy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    #1
    I know a lot of people dread this, let alone ask this. But how do you cause a voluntary kernel panic in 10.4? :)
     
  2. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #2
    a kernel panic is caused my a hardware issue. Safest way would be to install bad ram. Don't break anything.
     
  3. Marky_Mark macrumors 6502a

    Marky_Mark

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    I'm going to hate myself for this.... why do you want to know? :eek:
     
  4. sfisher macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM USA
    #4
    A kernel panic is caused when a serious, unrecoverable error occurs in the kernel (main part) of the operating system. There is no way to force a panic that I know of other than creating a driver that loads as a module into the kernel and then does something nasty in its interaction with the kernel. They can be caused by bad software loaded into the kernel or bad hardware. The kernel doesn't let a normal program destabilize the system enough to allow a panic.
     
  5. computercrushr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    #5
    take a tiger install disk from another computer. insert the cd in your computer. restart the computer and press c while starting up. the computer will kp. restart the computer to go back to normal. this will only work with tiger and with a tiger install disk from a Different Computer
     
  6. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
  7. Duff-Man macrumors 68030

    Duff-Man

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #7
    Duff-Man says.....send Hogan in to see Klink.....oh yeah!
     
  8. charlesbronsen macrumors 6502a

    charlesbronsen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Ont
    #8
    haha that had me on the floor...:D
     
  9. Sigur macrumors regular

    Sigur

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #9
    That definitely works. Just make sure you take a CD that was delivered with another Mac.
     

Share This Page