How to change homescreen background?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by fraggot, Apr 9, 2010.

  1. fraggot macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    Cox's Creek, KY
    #1
    Maybe I'm missing something or something is wrong with mine but how do you change your iPhone Homescreen Background or does this happen to be a 3GS only feature?

    When I go to set my background it doesn't give me an option to set for both homescreen and lockscreen or one of each.
     
  2. ozzyman500 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    #2
    It's probably a 3GS feature only. Why would they add all the goodies to old hardware?
     
  3. iphonegeek786 macrumors 6502

    iphonegeek786

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    #3
    AAAAAAAAAAAAAAaaHHHHH!! I have heard some users are able to and others aren't.
     
  4. WeegieMac Guest

    WeegieMac

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #4
    Homescreen wallpaper will not be a 3GS only feature, think logically.

    Folders can be implemented and works fine on the 3G, which uses more power than a static 480x320 image.

    The 3G already has lock screen wallpapers and images behind the interface when taking a call.

    I doubt Apple would have included the new 3D dock on the 3G if it wasn't getting the full new UI.

    And again, we're talking about a 480x320 still image. Multitasking will sell phones, changable backgrounds is not groundbreaking in terms of a new feature as nice as it is.

    The current bets is aimed, obviously, more at the 3GS.
     
  5. goobot macrumors 603

    goobot

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    long island NY
    #5
    well i cant find the button on my 3gs or 3g but my 3gs came with a background pre installed while my 3g didnt.
     
  6. palmerized macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    #6
    Can't set my home screen wall either. I'm on a 3G.
     
  7. iphonegeek786 macrumors 6502

    iphonegeek786

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    #7
    They might change in the next Beta or we won't have it.
     
  8. roblawton macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    #8
    I'm having trouble changing wallpapers also.

    I saw a screenshot giving two options on an image - "Set as lockscreen" and "Set as homescreen"

    I've got 4.0 running on an iPhone 3GS and I only get "Set as wallpaper"

    I'm scared of trying to get further than "cancel/set" incase I lose the bubbles...

    I've seen a video of 4.0 running with a different pic on lock and homescreen but can't do it... Any ideas folks?

    R,
     
  9. WeegieMac Guest

    WeegieMac

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #9
    On 3GS, click set and you will be given three options:

    Set as Home Screen
    Set as Lock Screen
    Set as Both

    Simples ;)
     
  10. roblawton macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    #10
    I couldn't resist, bit the bullet and found that in the end!

    Oddly though, it still doesn't work.

    I select the photo I want, 'Set Lock Screen' (and I've tried 'Set Home Screen' AND 'Set Both')
    I get the 'Setting Wallpaper' sign, then it shows a tick.

    Nothing... Anyone else seeing this issue?
     
  11. roblawton macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    #11
    Just found it!

    I can't change any wallpaper when using 'Photos' but if I go to 'Settings' and change wallpaper there, it works!

    [​IMG]

    Must just be a bug :D
     
  12. James.123 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    #12
    did anyone find a workaround for 3G users? I really want to set a background!
    Thanks
     
  13. roblawton macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    #13
    Have you tried my way?

    Changing it in Settings rather than Photo Library?
     
  14. Glenn.955 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    #14
    I noticed this and it was frustrating to work out... But as mentioned if you do it via Settings it works - It is a known bug for this beta that you can not do it via "Photos"
     
  15. fraggot thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    Cox's Creek, KY
    #15
    I can't change my homescreen any way, I've tried every "solution" out there and nothing works. So I'm assuming it's just a bug cause I can't even change my lockscreen. If I reset all my settings I get the rain drops lockscreen background but can't change it to anything else other then a black background.
     
  16. nalk7 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #16
    go to settings wallpaper, for some reason I cant do it from the photo app
    [​IMG]
     
  17. vizkiz macrumors 6502a

    vizkiz

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
  18. Dr Kevorkian94 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    SI, NY
    #18
    ive had no problem the only thing is that the wifi bars are wrong but its still super fast!
     

Share This Page