How to change MAC IP Address from JAPAN to CANADA?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by shuweiyu16, Aug 21, 2007.

  1. shuweiyu16 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    #1
    I am wondering how I am able to change my IP address from Japan to Canada?
    Any help is appreciated.
     
  2. CANEHDN macrumors 6502a

    CANEHDN

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    Eagle Mountain, UT
    #2
    You'll have to find a proxy server found in the country you're looking for. Why are you wanting to do this? You know that no matter what you do, people can locate you, even if you use proxy.
     
  3. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    i hope you know that MAC ID's are universal identifiers. you arent allowed to change them. they are like your credit card number, they only exist once. i wouldnt go messing around with that, unless its legal..:confused:
     
  4. Mernak macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Location:
    Kirkland, WA
    #4
    I think you are confusing a IP address with a MAC address. An IP address is a set of numbers (only) that are determined by your "location" on the internet from your ISP. and the ISP can change it as often as they like (and apparently they do). However your MAC (Media Access Control, i think) is hardwired into the hardware, and it would not surprise me if it was illegal most of the time.
     
  5. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    no lol i wasnt getting confused.. i just didnt fully understand what was going on. and still dont...

    wat is the OP wanting to change?? so confused, sorry. its been a long day
     
  6. majidf macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    #6
    Why would it be illegal to change MAC address? It's used to address the hardware on the local LAN. Mac OS X allows you to change it with ifconfig lladdr in terminal. I think it was possible to change in system preferences before.

    It is some times necessary to change MAC address when two interfaces get the same number. And yes its possible, I had it happen to me.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MAC_address
     
  7. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #7
    how is that even possible?!?!?! the MAC address is supposed to be a unique identifier. that silly if there are conflicts then, unless they were the same products, which would then make sense.
     
  8. majidf macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    #8
    Yes, they were same products, had the same company prefix. But companies reuse them when they finished the serie. Usually they dont sell products with same mac addresses in the same country, or area and so on.

    The products were bought some time appart, dont know exactly how much time appart.

    Check out these links: http://www.coffer.com/mac_find/, http://compnetworking.about.com/od/networkprotocolsip/l/aa062202a.htm

    btw, I think the meant Mac, not MAC =)
     
  9. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #9
    that would explain it then. i thought that generally changing mac addresses would be illegal. with mac addresses its easier to get onto different networks (i.e. hacz0r1ng). thats illegal isnt it haha

    that would make it easier to understand then
     
  10. majidf macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    #10
    Yes, but I dont think anyone serious with security would rely on MAC addresses, MAC spoofing isnt anything new. It's used sometimes in addition to security on WLAN's, or to identity workstations, or catalog hardware for instance at schools.

    An example of MAC spoofing that was or maybe still is popular is when you want to sniff switched networks, or redirect traffic, or simply DoS. You send out spoofed arp reply packets with your MAC address and the gateway/router ip address, that way the arp tables on all hosts will be poisoned with your mac address for the gateway ip and send all their traffic to you =)

    http://su2.info/doc/arpspoof.php
    http://monkey.org/~dugsong/dsniff/

    I remember we had to set router address as a permanent entry in the arp table on servers so that they werent taken offline by script kiddies who forgot to route the traffic to the real router =).
     
  11. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #11
    *jumping up and down in seat clapping hands like a little kid*

    thanks for the info. ive always been interested in checking out the vulnerabilities in wireless networks. there are quite a lot. im oging to major in security in Uni when i go next year. always been interested in it. maybe its cauz i like helping people and pointing out their flaws :p
     

Share This Page