How to change MBP Wi-Fi from N to G?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jauhari, Jun 6, 2008.

  1. jauhari macrumors regular

    jauhari

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #1
    Please Help me, how to detect what's currently running my Wi-Fi network? is it N or G? because my Access Point run on B/G and my MBP can't catch this signal. And when I try I catch this signal with Acer Notebook this laptop successfully connect to my Access Point.

    So, what's wrong? Please give me advice.
    Does there any ways to change my Wi-Fi signal? from N to G or G to N.

    Best Regards

    Jauhari
     
  2. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #2
    Your MBP should catch all signals. It doesn't matter if its a/b/g or n.

    Why yours doesn't? I don't know...
     
  3. scienide09 macrumors 65816

    scienide09

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    If you scroll down on this page in the Apple store, you can tell which you're using, G or N.

    I just looked at your public profile to see what kind of computer you're using. If it's the Santa Rosa MBP listed there, then you have N capability, and N is the default setting.
     
  4. jauhari thread starter macrumors regular

    jauhari

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #5
    Thanks for your advices, so how to change from N to G? is it automatically?
     
  5. merl1n macrumors 65816

    merl1n

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #6
    It is automatic. If the MBP doesn't detect an "N" signal, it will try "G" and then "B".
     
  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    or "A" as well.
     

Share This Page