How to check Battery Cycle at start up/set up screen

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by sknsnw9, Apr 3, 2014.

  1. sknsnw9 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    #1
    Hey all,

    I'm selling my mac on ebay and someone have a question for me and I totally forgot to check that before I did a computer wipe.

    I just did a clean instal of Mavericks and left it at the set up screen. I don't want to through it again just to check the battery cycle.

    Is there a way I can check it at boot up by pushing one of the buttons like the in the EFI? I dont know if it say the battery cycle in there?

    Thanks
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    No, you have to complete the setup process, then you can access battery info in System Profiler.
     
  3. sknsnw9 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    #3
    I was afraid that I would have to go through the set up. Thanks.
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    You don't need to go through setup.

    Do you have access to another Mac? Use this Apple utility with a 1GB+ USB key to make a bootable recovery key. Then option key boot to the USB key. Once the recovery screen comes up go to the Utilities menu and launch Terminal. Now enter the command below in Terminal and you will get your battery stats, including cycles.

    Code:
    ioreg -w0 -l | grep Capacity
     
  5. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #5
    Not to hijack this thread, but on a related note since 2 of the best responders are posting here ...

    I too like to prep my for-sale Macs such that they boot to the out-of-box setup screen for the new owner. :)

    Is there any way go past this point such that the auxiliary programs such as iWork and iLife can be installed, plus any updates can be applied, then reset the startup boot to return to the new-user setup screen?

    This way I know everything is installed properly and the system is truly ready to run for the new owner.

    Thanks
    -howard
     
  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6

    Sure... just do your clean install then make an admin account (let's call it temp) and update and install whatever you want.

    Now boot into single user mode by holding command-s when you boot. That will get you to a black screen with a command line prompt.

    Now enter the commands below one at a time followed by return. What you are doing here is mounting the file system then removing the preferences and temp account you made and making the system setup rerun at boot.

    Code:
    mount -uw /
    
    rm -rf /Library/Preferences/
    
    rm -rf /users/temp
    
    rm /var/db/dslocal/nodes/Default/users/temp.plist
    
    mv /var/db/.AppleSetupDone /var/db/.RunLanguageChooserToo
    The issue I see here is where are you getting the iWorks and iLife apps from? If you install them from the original DVDs you will be okay, but if you install them from the App Store with your AppleID, the new owner will not be able to update those apps since they won't have your AppleID.
     
  7. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #7
    Thanks Weaselboy ... that is what I was looking for.

    I do have the original DVDs for these apps to use ... but I suppose any updates will have the same AppleID issue?

    Is the AppleID issue also encountered when using Recovery to reload the OS X image since you have to login to the Apple store to qualify your machine?
     
  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    No... if you install from the DVDs, an AppleID will not be needed to apply updates for the apps.

    OS updates will not need an AppleID either, but yes if the new owner ever wanted to reinstall the OS they would need an AppleID that purchased the OS. What you can do is just install Mavericks with your AppleID, then tell the new owner to first thing go to the App Store under their AppleID and "purchase" the free Mavericks. Then if they ever wanted to reinstall they could with their own AppleID.
     

Share This Page