How to check if I have iPhone or Touch firmware?

Discussion in 'iPod touch Hacks' started by twynne, Jan 29, 2008.

  1. twynne macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    I used (what I believe to be) the first jailbreak method that came out for the Touch on Sunday morning, and having read various posts on the subject I'm wondering if I ended up with the iPhone firmware rather than Touch. I'm not sure it's that important as it appears to be working, but I'm wondering if there's a way to check.

    Also does anyone know what will happen if you re-jailbreak a Touch already running 1.1.3? Will the new firmware just overwrite it, or is it just not possible?

    Thanks,

    Tom
     
  2. Xenn0X macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #2
    ssh into your ipod and check in the application directory.
    or use mobilefinder app.
    if there are apps like sms and phone, then it's a iphone firmware. if not. ipod.
    you cannot re jailbreak. just downgrade back to 1.1.1 and start over.
    first time i jb to 1.1.3 i had iphone fw too. now i'm on proper ipod touch fw.
     
  3. twynne thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    Thanks - I did consider that but wasn't sure if the presence of the apps was a definitive check. I have MobilePhone.app and MobileSMS.app so I'm guessing it's the iPhone firmware.

    Any thoughts on whether it's possible to switch without downgrading and starting over?

    Cheers,

    Tom
     
  4. boonleng macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    United States
    #4
    Same here... I'm on iphone fw... I think I'm gonna redo mine to get it into ipod fw... can't quite stand that broken DRM bug.
     
  5. twynne thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    I haven't been subject to the 'DRM issue' as I was already running firmware 1.1.2 when I upgraded.

    I am, however, wondering if the iPhone firmware conflicts in some other way with the Touch as my battery life seems to be *dramatically* reduced since upgrading. With only a few hours use I'm down to about 1/3 remaining, where I used to get a few hours each day over several days before it needed a charge.

    Anyone else?
     
  6. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #6
    if you used the first jailbreak method (iBrickr) then yeh you have iPhone firmware. Best method is via ipodtouchmaster's installer source does it all for you via installer NO pc needed and when its done you get 1.1.3 with full features/apps
     
  7. twynne thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    Yes, I thought that might be the easiest. Any ideas whether it can be run on a Touch that is already at 1.1.3? I'd prefer to avoid starting over if at all possible. :)
     
  8. Xenn0X macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #8
    no you need to downgrade back to 1.1.1, then jailbreak it, oktoprep en update to 1.1.2. then jailbreak 1.1.2. und then run the 1.1.3 jailbreak.
    this way you won't have drm issue's too.
     
  9. twynne thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
    #9
    Hi,

    Actually it's an already jailbreak'd 1.1.3 (went 1.1.1 > 1.1.2 > 1.1.3) so I have access to Installer. Surely this should work without downgrading?
     
  10. Xenn0X macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #10
    you can try but i will not recommend that.
    if fails u can always restore so be my guest.
     
  11. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #11
    add the ipodtouchmaster repo source: http://ipodtouchmaster.com/files/repo.xml and run the 1.1.3 jailbreak install and see if that lets you re-install ontop of your already jailbroken ipod
     

Share This Page